Tuscaloosa Restaurant.com for your dining and entertainment needs.
Login
Username:

Password:


Forgot Password
Register
Tuscaloosa Restaurants at Tuscaloosa Restaurant.com
 
Web TuscaloosaRestaurant.com
Tuscaloosa Restaurants   Menus   Reviews   Jobs   Entertainment   Editor's Picks   Restaurant Owners   Contact Us   
Ads by TuscalooooooooooosaRestaurant
Movie Theaters
See what movies are showing in Tuscaloosa
Tuscaloosa Menus
Find various menus for restaurants in Tuscaloosa.
Tuscaloosa DUI Lawyers
Find Tuscaloosa DUI Lawyers.
Tuscaloosa Coupons
Print and Use coupons for restaurants in Tuscaloosa
Tuscaloosa Real Estate Agents
Find real estate agents in Tuscaloosa, AL.


The Globe

430 Main Avenue
Northport, Alabama 35476
Phone: (205) 391-0949

the_globe_outside.jpg the_globe_inside.jpg
0 deleted reviews averaging .


Restaurant Reviews for The Globe



Thank goodness The Globe is Back


Dated:Thursday March 21st 2013 at 09:46:13 PM  
Reviewer: Leslie Poss from Tuscaloosa, AL with IP: 99.103.221.68
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
4 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
Jeff Wilson and The Globe is back is business, this time in downtown Tuscaloosa. I didn't need to see a menu to know what to order, Thai Emerald Curry. The dish was beautifully plated. The ingredients were fresh. The meal was delicious. The meal came with house salad of mixed greens served with in-house dressing. Attention was given to every detail! The one distraction was the level of music spilling from the next-door bar. All the best to Chef Jeff and the Wilson family. This restaurant receives my strongest endorsement.


The best fresh salmon in town


Dated:Sunday March 1st 2009 at 09:25:50 AM  
Reviewer: Diane Sumner from Tuscaloosa, Alabama with IP: 68.62.148.13
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
My over-all experience at The Globe reastaurant was all 5 star rated!! The presentation of all of the dishes are most pleasing to the eye. One of my most favorite dishes is the pan seared salmon. It is the freshest served in town by far. The side salad with the apple smoked bacon drssing is a pleasure to enjoy. Ending this delicious meal with a slice of his keylime pie and wonderfully brewed coffee is a diners delight. what a treat to be able to have such a delightful evening out with servers answering to our every need. I recommend The Globe Restaurant to everyone!!!!!!!!!! My praises to Jeff Wilson owner and Chef!! Diane Sumner


Disappointed!


Dated:Tuesday February 10th 2009 at 12:29:45 AM  
Reviewer: J. Hayes from Atlanta, GA with IP: 71.56.29.162
2 stars: Service
3 stars: Food
3 stars: Atmosphere
3 stars: Overall
My husband, son and myself dined here 2-7-09. I was quite disappointed with the entire experience, since I read some good reviews on this site. We arrived at 6 pm and walked in waiting to be seated. The hostess was talking to someone else and ignored us standing there and seated a group that came in after us. They were apparently with a large party and went into another section of the restaurant. As we waited for her to return another 3 person party came in and she seated them next. We couldn't believe we were ignored twice! After sitting down at a nice table, the waitess immediately told us that they were out of several entrees and appetizers. I was suprised since it was only 6 p.m. Our waitress brought water and returned for our order. We advised that it was our first try at the Globe and we were not ready to order. She then took our drink order and waited a long time to return with them. We placed our orders. I thought the prices were a little on the high side, especially for the appetizers and salads. However, they turned out to be the best part of the meal. We got the fried green tomato appetizer with crabmeat. It was very good. Next was the side salad which was also very good. My son ordered the Salmon which was fresh, moist and seasoned just right. I ordered the tilapia which had much too much seasoning with a chopped veggie sauce and mole. The mole did not add anything to the dish. You could not taste the tilapia for the mole. It would have been better left off. My husband got the salisbury steak. It was overcooked and tough. The brown gravy was so salty you could hardly eat it. The mashed potatoes were good but were only lukewarm. Our waitress did not return often to fill drinks and water and she did not smile the entire time we were there. I think we could have had a much better meal for the price, almost $100, somewhere else. I don't know that we would eat here again.


The Best Salomon I have ever eaten


Dated:Friday April 18th 2008 at 03:42:00 PM  
Reviewer: carolyn sharp from louisville, mississippi with IP: 69.246.189.245
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
The Salmon in Parchment was the best I have ever eaten,especially the sauce and salad.We had execellent service and I loved the "Old World" decor. The experience was well worth the drive from Louisville, Ms. We will be back.



Thanks for a wonderful Birthday lunch.



PS My husbband Jimmy loved the "Dream Burger" "just delicious".


The best sirlion burger I have ever eaten


Dated:Friday April 18th 2008 at 09:31:39 AM  
Reviewer: paul newman from Xenia, Ohio 0477 with IP: 69.246.189.245
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
A very pleasant dinning experience, the Midsummer Dream burger was outstanding,cooked just right. The server was very polite and efficient and the resturant was clean and pleasant. Ww are from Ohio and will be back.

Thanks,Paul and Donna Newman


Fantastic Orange Rought


Dated:Monday April 14th 2008 at 02:19:30 PM  
Reviewer: Jennifer Spicer from Duluth GA with IP: 192.24.4.103
4 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
4 stars: Atmosphere
4 stars: Overall
I loved the Orange roughy with the Juniper Berry Pecan Sauce.

Our server was very pleasent, a little slow on getting drinks out.

The only thing I didn't like is the bright lights that kept going on and off. I prefer a subdued lighting.

Everyone I was with really enjoyed their dinners.

Would Chef Jeff send me the Juniper Berry sauce, I would love to recreate it!?!

This is the first time I've been but would love to return.


One of the best restaurants!!


Dated:Thursday January 10th 2008 at 01:25:43 PM  
Reviewer: L L from Tuscaloosa, AL with IP: 72.243.252.146
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
I thought everything was great. My husband and I were waited on by Laura S. This girl deserves a raise!! She did a great job!

The food was excellent. I ordered a half-size meal and got so much food!!

Love the atmosphere! Going back soon.


The best Salmon and salad I have ever eaten


Dated:Friday August 17th 2007 at 12:54:28 PM  
Reviewer: Diane Condon from Tuscaloosa,Alabama with IP: 68.62.144.19
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
Congradulations to Jeff ,Kathy Wilson and the Globe Resturant and staff for 15 years of execellent continious service in the resturant business.


Perfect spot for any occasion


Dated:Thursday July 26th 2007 at 05:11:26 PM  
Reviewer: A. Alexander from Tuscaloosa,AL with IP: 76.27.140.188
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
Whether you are dining with a date, family, business associate, or friend, the Globe is the perfect spot. The area where the Globe is located is charming, which carries into the inside atmosphere that is very comfortable. I am a regular, and have never been dissapointed with anything I've ordered and the wine list is great! The specials are also always amazing! As to the comments on bad service, sometime or another someone is bound to get less than great service, however, that has never been the case for me there. The Globe has a great variety of unique entrees unlike anywhere else in Tuscaloosa, I think it's fabulous and I will definately continue to visit!


The beat tasting Orange Ruffie I have ever tasted


Dated:Thursday July 26th 2007 at 07:49:29 AM  
Reviewer: M.C. WILSON from TUSCALOOSA,,ALABAMA with IP: 68.62.144.19
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
Very comfortable Atmoshere,the quality of the food was outstanding,outstanding service,


Wine Spectator and DiRona are right!


Dated:Wednesday July 25th 2007 at 12:37:49 AM  
Reviewer: Ava B. from Tuscaloosa, AL with IP: 69.246.181.206
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
Recently, my husband and I took some out-of-town guests to "The Globe" for dinner. We were seated, and enjoying our drinks, and we mentioned to our friends that we had dined there the night before. They said "I'm sorry, we didn't know...you probably wanted to go somewhere else..." To that I replied, "Are there OTHER restaurants in Tuscaloosa?"

For me, there are not.

I love everything about The Globe. The food is the MOST creative and delicious in town, the wine list is far and away the best to be found in Tuscaloosa, the atmosphere is extraordinary, and the staff has always been courteous. I LOVE the Thai curry, and the "special salad" is wonderful. The ribs...the brie appetizer...the filet Oscar...I could go on and on.

Two restaurants in Alabama have won the esteemed DiRona award (which is sort of like the culinary Oscar) One is the acclaimed "Highlands Bar and Grill" in Birmingham and the other is Tuscaloosa's (actually Northport's) "The Globe".

Well done, chef Jeff...you deserve it!



Simply the Best!


Dated:Tuesday July 24th 2007 at 04:50:55 PM  
Reviewer: Charles from Tuscaloosa, Alabama with IP: 68.62.157.8
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
I dine out in Tuscaloosa often. I make it to the Globe more often than any other restaurant in the area.



Wonderful food!

Great atmosphere!

Outstanding service!



You can't go wrong with anything on this menu!


Dated:Tuesday July 24th 2007 at 11:48:13 AM  
Reviewer: Stacy Panitch from Tuscaloosa, Alabama with IP: 130.160.197.61
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
As a regular costumer of The Globe I would like to say there is no better place for upscale dining in Tuscaloosa. The food is consistently outstanding. The atmosphere is comfortable for any occasion. The curry dish and the salmon are my two regulars but I'll often stray to the evening special as well. Don't pass up the brie appetizer- there's nothing like it in Tuscaloosa!


Feels like home!


Dated:Tuesday July 24th 2007 at 11:00:04 AM  
Reviewer: Stephen from Tuscaloosa/London with IP: 69.246.190.165
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
I like The Globe because it feels like the restaurants of Europe. The food is very good and the specials make use of very fresh ingredients. I love the fact that there are some many good beers on tap. I don't know what the Dirona award is , but I feel this restaurant is worthy of it. I will be returning many times with friends and family. Cheers.


Great Dining with International Flavor


Dated:Tuesday July 24th 2007 at 10:39:55 AM  
Reviewer: Julia Morgan from Auburn, AL with IP: 68.119.75.212
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
My husband and I love the variety of choices and the good, clean food. The flavor is international, and the food is presented artistically. There is something on the menu for everyone, and the price is right! There is an excellent wine list, so the appropriate wine can always be found.

We also like the atmosphere, with the art, the references to Shakespeare, and the old-world look. We've always had fine service.

We're not from Tuscaloosa, but we go to The Globe whenever possible; we wish it were more often. Julia Morgan



Not just for a special occasion...


Dated:Tuesday July 24th 2007 at 10:30:33 AM  
Reviewer: Lisa from Northport, Alabama with IP: 207.157.94.254
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
I often hear people say that they select The Globe as a dining choice for a special occasion, but this restaurant is my favorite for every occasion. Whether I am there for lunch, a birthday dinner, or just drinks with friends - the hosts, waitstaff, and bartenders are friendly and welcoming, not to mention their ability to make wonderful suggestions for even the most finicky eater. (I know this because I am quite picky!) Among my favorites are the salmon caliban, chicken korma, the cheeseburger, ribs, the Much-Ado (served at lunch) and the best lemondrop martinis anywhere! Though any dish makes a great meal the next day, chef and owner Jeff Wilson has recently added 1/2 orders of many of his popular entrees making it budget friendly for people who like to go often. By far the best restaurant in the Tuscaloosa/Northport area, its distinction as a DiRona Award winner proves that The Globe is among the finest dining experiences to be found anywhere.


Always a joy!


Dated:Monday July 23rd 2007 at 04:35:54 PM  
Reviewer: Dianne Teague from Tuscaloosa, AL with IP: 130.160.198.67
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
My husband and I are at The Globe a lot. We wish it were more often, in fact. I have always had excellent service starting with the hostess, the servers, the bartender, the maitre d', etc. The food is exceptional. The atmosphere charming and warm. The staff accommodating. The wines perfectly wonderful--by the glass, by the bottle, and a fine spectrum of labels and vintages. This is, by far, our favorite restaurant in Tuscaloosa. The feeling is very much that of a good New Orleans or Atlanta establishment. Most deserving of the highly prestigious DiRona Award!



The Globe is Best All-Around in T-Town


Dated:Monday July 23rd 2007 at 11:05:26 AM  
Reviewer: Bill Buchanan from Tuscaloosa, AL with IP: 69.246.181.206
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
My wife and I are at The Globe so much we are almost considered employees. We love the atmosphere, always get great service. But the food is what sets The Globe apart. The steaks and fish are great, and the Thai Emerald Curry is outstanding. What most people don't know is that The Globe also has the best ribs in town (very meaty, very tender and flavorful) as well as the best hamburger I have ever tasted. Add to that the best wine list in town BY FAR and you can see why The Globe is one of only two restaurants in the state (the other being Highlands Bar & Grill in Birmingham) to win the coveted DiRona award.


The Best


Dated:Monday July 23rd 2007 at 11:04:09 AM  
Reviewer: Susan from Tuscaloosa, AL with IP: 207.157.94.254
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
My husband and I eat at The Globe as often as we can because we absolutely love the place. I have never ordered anything that was not really good and I usually take home a "to go" plate (the servings are large) and enjoy it the next day, too. I feel like I'm in the TV show "Cheers" when I go there because of the friendly atmosphere. We always chose The Globe when entertaining friends. It is unique.


Wonderful Cobb Salad


Dated:Friday March 23rd 2007 at 05:08:51 PM  
Reviewer: Larry from Birmingham with IP: 24.158.238.51
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
I will definitely eat there again. The hostess, server and atmosphere were all top rate. The Cobb Salad (for lunch) was superb and it was beautiful, too!. It is a great restaurant with a wonderful atmosphere.


Best food I've had in Ttown


Dated:Sunday January 14th 2007 at 12:06:10 PM  
Reviewer: Carrie from Tuscaloosa with IP: 68.62.144.194
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
This was a first time visit for me. Great ambiance, no wait time to be seated. Staff was great, including our server who helped me choose my entree and consistently had our water glasses full. Bread was brought right to the table with the drinks and the flow of the meal was perfect--appetizer, salad, then entree. The brie appetizer was delicious. I had the shrimp tortellini which had a creamy white buttery/onion flavor. The vegetables were fresh and cooked just right.

For the money, I would say this is the best food I've had in T-town and I've been here for a while. I will definitely be visiting again.


Bread and waitstaff


Dated:Monday August 28th 2006 at 09:52:41 PM  
Reviewer: Rach from Tuscaloosa, AL with IP: 69.247.97.107
4 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
4 stars: Overall
I eat at the globe once and week and would like to point out a few things, first bread is charged at lunch not free like at dinner, therefore it is not automatically brought to the table. I would also like to point out that during the summer semester, at most restraunts, the waitstaff is new. In all likelihood, the servers that gave you bad service are not there anymore. Here's a tip as well, management cannot always keep up with how well the twenty-fifty employees that work for them are doing, so ask to speak to a manager and complain to them about the service. That way you are preventing that server from making someone else's food experience bad. If you don't complain about the service to the manager, then you probably shouldn't complain about it on the internet. It is your own fault.


The 4 stars are only about the food


Dated:Friday August 18th 2006 at 01:25:53 AM  
Reviewer: Samantha from Tuscaloosa AL with IP: 68.62.115.128
1 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
3 stars: Atmosphere
4 stars: Overall
The deco of the globe is precious. It relaxes me just to be in there. The food is amazing, I have only had one bad food experience there. The downside of the globe is definately their waitstaff. The best waiter there is a male, who also bartends quite a bit. The rest of the wait staff act as if they are too good to serve you, and if something is wrong, they act as if it is your fault, not the restaurant. I also have to agree with one other post on here-Bring out the bread asap! Don't make me ask for it! Overall, I go there because I know the chef and the food is amazing. I find it easy to laugh at the pretentiousness of the staff, but some people won't.


How the heck...


Dated:Friday July 14th 2006 at 08:57:28 AM  
Reviewer: Dixie from Northport with IP: 65.171.131.67
1 stars: Service
3 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
2 stars: Overall
How the heck am I supposed to rate the food when I was never served? I have read several other reviews of this restaurant in reference to the service, and I fully agree. My roommate and I were dressed in jeans and t-shirts, of course looking like a couple of college kids, when we wanted to eat lunch at the Globe one day. We get there, the hostess seats us, and we are ignored for a good 15 minutes. In fact, the hostess was the one who brought us water! I believe she felt sorry for us. The young man who was to be our waiter was passing over our table every single time. I have no clue why, unless he thought a table of old ladies was going to give him a giant tip. Yeah right. Needless to say, after waiting 15 minutes or more just for acknowledgement, my roommate and I went across the street to the Flamingo Room.



I haven't tried to the Globe since. I don't think I'll ever go there, unless I am humoring someone that I am with.


great meat, bad service


Dated:Thursday July 13th 2006 at 03:22:14 PM  
Reviewer: scott orrell from tuscaloosa, al with IP: 74.62.63.35
1 stars: Service
3 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
4 stars: Overall
The witress looked at my wife like she wanted to slap her, when we suggested that she clear the table...of our appetizers and their plates. The meats were fantastic but the dishes were far too sauce-heavy. Good owner, good chef, bad cooks, bad servers.

Probably will not return.


Food / Atmosphere


Dated:Saturday July 1st 2006 at 10:16:46 PM  
Reviewer: La from Phoenix, Arizona with IP: 68.17.171.80
4 stars: Service
4 stars: Food
2 stars: Atmosphere
3 stars: Overall
1) Bread being served automatically to the tables, as you sit down -- would be a very nice touch. Specifically, some type of cheese/garlic biscuits/bread sticks -- served w/ butter and/or olive oil and/or some type of dipping sauce. (One should not have to ask for bread -- and have it charged separately).

2) The waitress was very pleasant -- however, we had to wait too long for our lunch to be served.

3. Once the lunch was served, everyone was pleased w/ their entrees -- in particular the salmon.

4) The music played today (7/1/06) during the lunch shift, was somewhat annoying. Background music should be pleasant sounding -- music which makes you feel good -- not music which is unpleasant. Background music should blend-in with the atmosphere. You either want to appreciate the music, or not notice the music -- but you don't want your music noted as "annoying". I don't like to be critical w/out having another suggestion; therefore, should you so desire, I'll be happy to suggest other instrumental/vocal music choices for your unique restaurant (for your lunch and dinner shifts, respectively).

Thank you.


Wait Staff Shouldn't Argue With Patrons


Dated:Saturday June 24th 2006 at 06:18:24 PM  
Reviewer: Rusty from Birmingham, Alabama with IP: 71.8.81.230
2 stars: Service
3 stars: Food
4 stars: Atmosphere
3 stars: Overall
My wife and I decide to take two 75 year-old ladies (my mom and my aunt) out for a Saturday drive and some lunch. A drive down to T-town seems like a good idea.



As soon as we sit at the table, the waitress is ready with pen and pad to take our orders. As good as this sounds, 75+ year old ladies need a few minutes to read the menu, which is written in "Shakepearesque" terms ("Much Ado" rather than "Club Sandwich, for instance). We ask for a couple of moments, and the waitress dissapears for what seems to be 30 minutes. The little old ladies are hungry.



The prices aren't THAT un-godly expensive, but pricey for what you get.



We order two chicken quesadillas, one vegetable quesadilla and the aforementioned "Much Ado" club sandwich.



The food arrives. I've seen and tasted better quesadillas at fast-food Mexican places. Sour cream, guacamole and jallepenos were nowhere to be found. The "Much Ado" was served with red and blue tortilla chip CRUMBS! I am not making this up! It was as if the bag of chips in the kitchen was empty and the "chef" decided to just dump the remains onto my plate.



Here's the WORST part. When I pointed out the crumbs to the waitress, instead of offering to compensate with fresh CHIPS (as opposed to crumbs) -she defended the cook and the chips (or crumbs). "We get our chips at COSTCO", she said. "Sometimes they're just broken up when we get them".



I then point out that I am never usually one to gripe, and that I really don't care if I have chips or not with my sandwich. But I asked her to take the crumbs back to the person who prepared the meal and ask him/her how THEY would feel if THEY were served this pile of crumbs.



She just stared at me like I was stupid.



Although it's been a few years, my wife and I have dined at the Globe several times before. On this particular visit, customer service and meal presentation were out to lunch.


THe worst waiter ever


Dated:Tuesday June 20th 2006 at 06:56:22 PM  
Reviewer: Kirk gremerson from tuscaloosa with IP: 70.197.108.73
1 stars: Service
2 stars: Food
1 stars: Atmosphere
1 stars: Overall
I few weeks ago I ate at the "Globe" the food was ok but not that good, lets just say it wasn't worth the money. The waiter was a know good snob that was so hateful and unpleasent that I think I'd rather have dinner in a dumpster with my inlaws.


best shrimp and grits ever


Dated:Thursday October 27th 2005 at 11:30:00 AM  
Reviewer: karen gentry from hartselle, al with IP: 65.15.249.226
3 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
4 stars: Atmosphere
4 stars: Overall
noise level was loud with just a few eating, but the shrimp with grits was fabulous, just wish they were open on Sunday.






Site Map Copyright © 2005-2018 TuscaloosaRestaurant.com
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License.
Page generated in 0.22 seconds, 143 queries