Tuscaloosa Restaurant.com for your dining and entertainment needs.
Login
Username:

Password:


Forgot Password
Register
Tuscaloosa Restaurants at Tuscaloosa Restaurant.com
 
Web TuscaloosaRestaurant.com
Tuscaloosa Restaurants   Menus   Reviews   Jobs   Entertainment   Editor's Picks   Restaurant Owners   Contact Us   
Ads by TuscalooooooooooosaRestaurant
Tuscaloosa Movers
Southern Moving Company in Tuscaloosa, Alabama.
Gulf Shores Restaurants
Help us write reviews for GulfShoresRestaurant.com
Tuscaloosa Coupons
Print and Use coupons for restaurants in Tuscaloosa
Tuscaloosa Used Autos


Buffet City

1747 Skyland Boulevard East
Tuscaloosa, Alabama 35401
Phone: (205) 553-3308

 
0 deleted reviews averaging .


Restaurant Reviews for Buffet City



Hair in food. Poor customer service.


Dated:Sunday January 5th 2014 at 03:05:45 PM  
Reviewer: Ronaka from Tuscaloosa AL with IP: 166.205.68.47
1 stars: Service
1 stars: Food
2 stars: Atmosphere
1 stars: Overall
My husband and sons went to Buffet city. My son found 3 long strands of hair in his crab legs. My husband showed the manager. She offered to give him 15% off his meal only. $1.20. When he expressed his discontentment with this she said that all restaurants only give 10% and she was doing him a favor. When he said that wasn't acceptable she said she would take 15% off the total, $2.00. When he laughed at her and told her she should take my sons food off, she refused and threatened to call the cops on him. He paid and was told to never come back, as if he would. We will never eat here again.


Food tastes great, when it's available.


Dated:Monday February 1st 2010 at 10:33:57 PM  
Reviewer: Kevin Scanlan from Tuscaloosa, Alabama with IP: 69.244.0.62
5 stars: Service
4 stars: Food
4 stars: Atmosphere
3 stars: Overall
I happen to live in one of the apartments just behind Buffet City, so I decided to try them out tonight. We were seated quickly, and treated well by the woman maintaining our section of the restarant. She kept up with the drinks very well, and made sure to take plates when we were done with them.



My first problem is one all the reviews I read warned me about, and they were right, Some things just won't be available for the whole time your are there. They just don't keep up that well with refilling their trays, I started to question if Buffet was the right choice of format for them. I usually judge a chinese buffet place by their General Tso's and or Seasame Chicken. From what I saw it was the proper brown color, not the weird yellow stuff some places have. However I was never able to try any, for the pan was empty. The whole hour I was there they never even came close to the empty pan. It was about 7:00pm so it's not like it was lunch transisioning to dinner, they just never tended to that whole bar section.



What WAS available however was good, especially the sweet and sour chicken, which they did refill, but not until it was just about empty. If you judge a chinese buffet by the sweet and sour, than this place is awesome. It was actually the best I've had in a while. The chicken was crispy out and fluffy inside, and the sauce was a nice thick cherry sauce, not the thin pink water some places have.

There was no sesame chicken, but they did have pineapple chicken which I've never seen before, pretty much like honey chicken in a pineapple syrup.

The only thing I must warn about is the "brownies" they look and smell like brownies, but taste and feel like foam mattress..

Though the soft serve was good and they actually have cake cones, some places just have bowls.



I was unhappy to miss out on a few things, but satisfied with what I got, I may go back soon just for the sweet and sour, since they are one of the closest buisnesses to my apartment. Don't know if I'ld come all the way from northport for it though.


Very happy every time


Dated:Sunday January 4th 2009 at 03:42:22 PM  
Reviewer: A-day visitor from birmingham with IP: 4.84.74.33
3 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
Every time I'm down in Tuscaloosa I make it a priority to come here.

The food is great, service is decent, and for the price what more could

you want?

5/5 stars for me.



ROLL TIDE ROLL


Not so great


Dated:Friday November 7th 2008 at 12:34:32 PM  
Reviewer: KIM from Tuscaloosa, Alabama with IP: 71.91.12.32
4 stars: Service
3 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
4 stars: Overall
The food is okay, I just wish that ever now and then they change up the food~~ The beans though are great~~~yummy~~ Well and also they dont keep the crab legs stocked well enough. I go to get some everytime and they never bring out anymore.


Must try the Mongolian BBQ


Dated:Saturday November 18th 2006 at 12:33:48 AM  
Reviewer: Kristy from Tuscaloosa, with IP: 69.247.103.248
5 stars: Service
4 stars: Food
4 stars: Atmosphere
4 stars: Overall
Overall, the food is not spectacular. For a Chinese buffet in Tuscaloosa there is a decent variety. The Mongolian BBQ station is the best. They make the food fresh for you and you pick exactly what you want, how much, etc. It is a bit heavy on the cooking oil though.


Nice atmosphere. Food depends.


Dated:Wednesday March 22nd 2006 at 08:01:05 PM  
Reviewer: Charles Parker from Tuscaloosa, Alabama with IP: 172.161.56.72
4 stars: Service
3 stars: Food
3 stars: Atmosphere
3 stars: Overall
As it goes with almost all buffets, the food at Buffet City is nothing to write home about. Most of the time I find myself going to there and just eating appetizers. I enjoy most of their selection: the fried shrimp, the sweet and sour chicken, the chicken rolls, and the crab rangoons are my favorites. The entrees are okay: I occasionally having to wage battle with the beef dishes. The chicken dishes are good: the honey chicken is a favorite of mine. I don't particularly care for the rice or lo mein, but they're consumable, which is more than I can say about the soup. Stay away from the soup! BC has a wide array of desserts, ranging from Asian fruits (leechees and the biggest grapes you'll ever see) to Chinese donuts to the standard jello and pudding (what's with Chinese buffets and jello?).



The service is good. I'm always seated immediately and my drink cup is never empty. The best part of Buffet City, however, is the decoration. It's not PF Chang's, no, but he Chinese lanterns and the enormous murals are just enough to not make it feel like a hole in the wall joint.






Site Map Copyright © 2005-2017 TuscaloosaRestaurant.com
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License.
Page generated in 0.12 seconds, 45 queries