Tuscaloosa Restaurant.com for your dining and entertainment needs.
Login
Username:

Password:


Forgot Password
Register
Tuscaloosa Restaurants at Tuscaloosa Restaurant.com
 
Web TuscaloosaRestaurant.com
Tuscaloosa Restaurants   Menus   Reviews   Jobs   Entertainment   Editor's Picks   Restaurant Owners   Contact Us   
Ads by TuscalooooooooooosaRestaurant
Tuscaloosa Businesses
Find Tuscaloosa Businesses with maps, reviews and other information
Write Reviews
Write reviews for Tuscaloosa Restaurants
Gulf Shores Restaurants
Help build the library of reviews for restaurants in Gulf Shores and Orange Beach.


Cafe Venice

2321 University Boulevard
Tuscaloosa, Alabama 35401
Phone: (205) 366-1209

 
7 deleted reviews averaging 1.1429.


Restaurant Reviews for Cafe Venice



The best taste.


Dated:Tuesday June 30th 2009 at 01:35:03 PM  
Reviewer: Sabrina from Northport, Alabama with IP: 24.196.13.136
3 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
I am not sure what has happened recently at Cafe Venice. The food tasted so much better than previous visits. The servers are a little less than you would expect but it is worth it in the quality of the dinner. The Asian dishes threw me a little but other than that we loved it. The atmosphere is absolutely beautiful and a nice place to sit and enjoy your meal. Whatever they are doing, they need to continue.


Just My Opinion


Dated:Thursday May 28th 2009 at 10:09:46 PM  
Reviewer: Sammy from Tuscaloosa, Alabama with IP: 74.180.104.130
3 stars: Service
3 stars: Food
4 stars: Atmosphere
3 stars: Overall
So after reading some of the more recent reviews of the restaurant I have my own two cents to throw in. The service is extremely unpredictable. There is one waitress who is very attentive. If you don't get seated in her section then you are basically screwed. My order has came out wrong on more than one occasion. The identity of the restaurant really is non-existnat, if that makes sense. However, I do believe the food is dramatically better than before the new management. The wine list is pretty good & the bar is fully stocked. They offer a Saturday brunch with great drink specials.


What kind of place is this?


Dated:Wednesday May 20th 2009 at 01:27:33 PM  
Reviewer: James from Decatur, AL with IP: 63.229.238.95
1 stars: Service
1 stars: Food
1 stars: Atmosphere
1 stars: Overall
The experience that my family and I had when we visited this place was palatable at best. The restaurant has no identity, the sign says Italian but the menu was full of Asian dishes. That's not Fusion cuisine at all. Someone needs to teach the new owners about what running a restaurant really means. The staff needs to be more friendly and professional. All in all I wouldn't recommend this to anyone.


Amazing improvement!!


Dated:Saturday March 21st 2009 at 06:10:21 PM  
Reviewer: Sarah from Tuscaloosa, Alabama with IP: 76.27.138.82
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
Cafe Venice has come so far since coming under new management. The staff are friendly, co-operative and I felt very happy with the general atmosphere of the place. Before new management took over, the place was a bit dark and drab and generally under-nourished, but now it feels warm and welcoming. I love half price wine and pizza night on Wednesdays and I make it a regular place for me and friends to go now. I also love the live music on Friday nights (i think they do it Saturday's too!). It may need more marketing campaigns to get it back completely on it's feet, but as far as I am concerned I would recommend the restaurant to friends. I do try to have something different when I visit a restaurant more than once, and the selection is great. Everything I have tried has been very good. I do have one small problem with the menu - I believe it needs a good steak on there. But apart from that, I have no problems with what is offered.


Bad food, over-priced, slow service, boring


Dated:Monday March 9th 2009 at 02:20:53 PM  
Reviewer: Katie from Charleston, SC with IP: 68.157.73.103
1 stars: Service
1 stars: Food
1 stars: Atmosphere
1 stars: Overall
This may be the worst restaurant I've ever been to. The calamari and mango shrimp appetizers were greasy and tasteless. The chicken mushroom soup consisted of mushrooms in lots of beef broth with a few small pieces of chicken. The pizza was soggy and underdone. The grouper with fruit sauce looked like it had been sitting for a while and was very dry. The fruit sauce was brown and tasted like apple butter from a jar. The chicken marsala was also very dry. The only thing that I found to be warm was the ice water. To sum it up this is a very slow, boring, over-priced restaurant with really BAD food.


WOW what a difference!!


Dated:Thursday February 19th 2009 at 11:35:15 AM  
Reviewer: Melissa from Tuscaloosa, AL with IP: 76.18.120.220
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
I have to say that I am so impressed with the new ownership of Cafe Venice! Finally we have a restaurant that compares with ***edited***!! Can't wait for many more experiences there!!


Low-Grade Dog Food


Dated:Thursday June 5th 2008 at 09:48:56 PM  
Reviewer: Matthew from Tuscaloosa, Alabama with IP: 76.18.124.237
1 stars: Service
1 stars: Food
1 stars: Atmosphere
1 stars: Overall
I have worked in the food-service industry in the past as a sous-chef, so I do know a little about food and what should constitute as a pleasant dining experience. I have patronized Cafe Venice a few times several years ago, but was never really blown away, but the food was edible. I was on a date recently w/ my girlfriend and we were in the downtown area looking for a place to have dinner. Much to my chagrin, she suggested Cafe Venice, because we would be able to eat outside and smoke. After reading over the menu, I decided to go w/ a simple staple of Italian cuisine, peppers and sausage (a.k.a "The Godfather). What I received was neither sausage nor peppers. I was served a bowl of watered-down marinara sauce accompanied by canned roasted red peppers cooked to the point of disintegration and Hormel pepperoni masquerading as the "sausage." I pointed out to the server that the dish was sans sausage and a few minutes later, a frat-boy wearing a chef's coat walked outside armed w/ a sauté pan full of more Hormel pepperoni and the aforementioned watered-down marinara. Awful experience: bad food that is outrageously priced and a terrible wine and beer selection. Shame on you Cafe Venice!


not thrilled


Dated:Saturday October 20th 2007 at 02:32:03 PM  
Reviewer: angela from tuscaloosa, al with IP: 76.18.103.131
2 stars: Service
2 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
2 stars: Overall
I really liked the atmosphere but I am Italian and when the waiter did not know what Ricotta was, and then asked the Chef who didn't know and came to ask me, I was not thrilled. To be fair, maybe that has changed (this was months ago) but now I only got to ***edited***.


Best Italian Food in Tuscaloosa by Far!


Dated:Friday September 21st 2007 at 11:29:41 AM  
Reviewer: David from Montgomery, AL with IP: 69.247.104.77
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
This was my first visit to Cafe Venice, and both my date and I left very impressed! Not only was the food great, but the service and atmosphere were awesome as well. The homemade Rosemary bread was a nice touch at the beginning of the meal, and the delicious pizza topped it all off. Located in the heart of downtown Tuscaloosa, Cafe Venice is truly a one-of-a-kind restaurant that I look forward to eating at many times in the future.


Not a place to eat if you are in a hurry or like good food.


Dated:Friday June 15th 2007 at 04:55:18 PM  
Reviewer: Cheryl from Northport, AL with IP: 71.16.214.130
1 stars: Service
1 stars: Food
3 stars: Atmosphere
2 stars: Overall
This is the second time I have eaten at Cafe Venice. I have read other reviews and thought I might give it a second chance. Well I won't be back. We took a friend for her birthday and it was terrible. The service was horrible. The food was just so so and the birthday girl could not even eat her food because it was so bad (her fish was burnt). She shared my dish but there was no taste to what we ate. I was disappointed to say the least. I would like to say that there is a somewhat good Italian restaurant in Tuscaloosa, but I have yet to find one.


Cafe Venice--high-level dining, old-world atmosphere at modest prices


Dated:Tuesday February 6th 2007 at 09:15:03 PM  
Reviewer: Marvin Rogers from Tuscaloosa, AL with IP: 68.62.128.29
4 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
Cafe Venice creates the old world feel of a European city. It's the most interesting and intimate restaurant in town. This is high level dining for a reasonable price. Cafe Venice has some of the best homemade soups - French Oinion and my favorite, Red Pepper Soup. Their sandwichs are on wonderful bread and come with homemade potato chips. Also, their daily specials are delicious--a fabulous value. The food is more original than anywhere else. It's my favorite restaurant in town.


Great food-Horrible Service!


Dated:Tuesday July 25th 2006 at 01:25:28 PM  
Reviewer: Jim from Tuscaloosa, Alabama with IP: 12.6.120.34
1 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
3 stars: Atmosphere
3 stars: Overall
I've dined here several times and the food has always been Great. However, my last 3 visits have been so bad that I've decided not to go back. The shortest wait I've had is about 45 minutes and the longest was over an hour an a half. The food is good, but not that good.


One Classy Place!


Dated:Tuesday October 18th 2005 at 07:14:39 PM  
Reviewer: Chasidy Miroff from Tuscaloosa/AL with IP: 68.62.132.155
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
4 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
The Wednesday night 1/2 price pizza and wine is a fabulous deal! The pizza is always delicious. I had the basic magherita pizza and added grilled shrimp. The staff gave great service, and were very prompt. They have a smoking section, which tends to make the place smell like cigarettes when people smoke, but other than that the environment was wonderful. I also enjoy the Crabcake sandwich on their lunch menu. It's one of the best crabcakes I've ever tasted. The tiramisu is heavenly. Also, Sunday brunch is VERY NICE--they even have a string band playing while you eat. The spaghetti with feta cheese topping is terrific, and so are the waffles.






Site Map Copyright © 2005-2019 TuscaloosaRestaurant.com
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License.
Page generated in 0.09 seconds, 73 queries