Tuscaloosa Restaurant.com for your dining and entertainment needs.
Login
Username:

Password:


Forgot Password
Register
Tuscaloosa Restaurants at Tuscaloosa Restaurant.com
 
Web TuscaloosaRestaurant.com
Tuscaloosa Restaurants   Menus   Reviews   Jobs   Entertainment   Editor's Picks   Restaurant Owners   Contact Us   
Ads by TuscalooooooooooosaRestaurant
Movie Theaters
See what movies are showing in Tuscaloosa
Tuscaloosa DUI Lawyers
Find Tuscaloosa DUI Lawyers.
Tuscaloosa Contractors
Repair, Remodel, Renovations done the Wright Way in Tuscaloosa.
Tuscaloosa Lawyers
Find Tuscaloosa attorneys by category.


DePalma's Italian Cafe

2300 University Boulevard
Tuscaloosa, Alabama 35401
Phone: (205) 759-1879

 
1 deleted reviews averaging 1.0000.


Restaurant Reviews for DePalma's Italian Cafe



Complete LACK of Service!


Dated:Tuesday October 25th 2011 at 10:47:31 AM  
Reviewer: Jason from Northport, AL with IP: 64.254.105.14
1 stars: Service
3 stars: Food
4 stars: Atmosphere
2 stars: Overall
Monday night, 10/24/2011... Arrived at restaurant just after 6pm. Placed a request for seating for 14 (...of which 5 were kids 5yrs old and under). Was told the wait would be about 30 to 45 minutes, which was fine since the plan for everyone to arrive was at 6:30pm. Watched multiple people come, get seated, eat, and leave. This included two groups of 6 or 7 that ended up sitting together, as one group. They requested seating after we did. Finally, was seated at 7:45pm. Food was okay, but received no drink refills, except for those with water. Wasn't even offered anything to make up for the 30 to 45 minute wait turning into an hour and 45 minutes!!! Would have cancelled the request at 7pm and went somewhere else, but was told at 6:50pm that is would be about 15 to 20 more minutes. This was a place the wife had chosen for her birthday dinner, so everyone in our group was patient for her.


Love the energy


Dated:Friday June 4th 2010 at 05:56:05 PM  
Reviewer: Heather from B Ham with IP: 166.137.14.236
4 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
4 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
Wow this place is always busy. I can see why I everything I have tried

I have enjoyed. My favorites boccocini and pasta depalma with artichokes.

The service was very good even when they are busy. Just wish they

were open Sunday.


Try the gorgonzola filet.. WOW!


Dated:Sunday July 5th 2009 at 08:33:34 PM  
Reviewer: Rosie Kazarovich from Tuscaloosa, AL with IP: 205.188.117.65
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
4 stars: Atmosphere
4 stars: Overall
I previously wrote a review for DePalma's in early 2007. I raved about the food and menu then, and still love everything about DePalma's now. However, in 2007, I was a little dissappointed with the tattered chair cushions that were a touch unsightly and a bit uncomfortable. Well, the chairs have had a makeover and I felt obligated to write another review. Way to go, DePalma's! Lookin' great and still satisfying my tastebuds. My boyfriend and I have become hooked on the gorgonzola filet. Fantastic!


Great Italian Food


Dated:Tuesday June 10th 2008 at 07:11:08 PM  
Reviewer: Christina Boyd from Northport, AL with IP: 74.240.98.195
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
This was my first time eating at DePalma's, and I'm very glad we did! I had the spinach fetuccini alfredo with chicken, my husband had the traditional pizza, and we shared an appetizer of meatball, onion, & cheese breadsticks. Everything was wonderful! They brought out a glass cup of grated parmesan cheese that topped off our meals excellently. Our server was Jane and she was fabulous -- very sweet, helpful, and gave us overall great service. We will definitely go back!


best in town


Dated:Saturday October 20th 2007 at 02:45:01 PM  
Reviewer: angela from tuscaloosa, alabama with IP: 76.18.103.131
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
I only eat Italian and Depalmas. And I AM Italian. Best in town, very quaint atmosphere. Friendly staff. Great management. Highly recommended but beware, they are packed on weekend evenings.


Great food and service, but a little pricey and VERY loud


Dated:Saturday July 7th 2007 at 04:00:01 PM  
Reviewer: Rose from Tuscaloosa, AL with IP: 76.27.136.62
5 stars: Service
4 stars: Food
3 stars: Atmosphere
4 stars: Overall
The food and service at DePalma's is always great. I've had several of their pasta dishes and just tried a calzone for the first time last night, and all of them were excellent. Of the 4 or 5 servers we've had, they have all been great-friendly, on top of things, knowledgeable, etc., BUT they are way overworked! We usually go in on a Friday or Saturday night, and our server is always running around trying to take care of his tables.



The only bad thing about DePalma's is the way that it's set up. It is very crowded, and too loud to be considered anything close to romantic. OH and the only food related complaint I have is that a side salad is 5.50! Way too expensive in my mind. They are always good, but that's as much as an appetizer! No thanks! Overall though, I always enjoy the experience and food while eating at DePalma's.


It's True


Dated:Tuesday May 29th 2007 at 03:11:21 PM  
Reviewer: Rebecca from Tuscaloosa, Alabama with IP: 76.27.140.210
4 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
4 stars: Atmosphere
4 stars: Overall
DePalma's is the best Italian in Tuscaloosa, with the exception of my mom's cooking. The wait staff is always friendly if, at times, a bit absent-minded. The owners and managers are clearly interested in the consistency and authenticity of the recipes: no "fake" Italian food. They usually offer a daily special of lasagna. I would enjoy the addition of some soups, perhaps pasta e fagioli, to go with their excellent salads. It's a fine enough restaurant to enjoy on a date - nice lighting and the booths offer more privacy. However, it's comfortable enough not to be pretentious. You can order a mixed greens salad and a huge slice of pizza for less than six dollars. Also, it's located in one of the oldest and most beautiful buildings in downtown Tuscaloosa.


Best all round


Dated:Sunday March 18th 2007 at 11:11:35 AM  
Reviewer: Rosie Kazarovich from Tuscaloosa, AL with IP: 205.188.116.13
4 stars: Service
4 stars: Food
3 stars: Atmosphere
4 stars: Overall

I'm new to the area and have eaten at DePalma's a handful of times now and every time, no matter what I've ordered, as well as the other people in my party, the food has been wonderful. From their seared tuna to pizza & calzones, desserts...yum! I plan to eat there quite often to try more of their extensive menu. Atomosphere is nice...not stuffy at all...and I dig the mix matched sets of chairs, but wish they'd reconsider recovering the ones that are terribly falling apart and sliced up. Staff is extrememly pleasant and service has been excellent each visit. Great place and look forward to many more yummy visits. :)


Way Above the Other Italian Restaurants Downtown


Dated:Tuesday October 10th 2006 at 11:06:37 PM  
Reviewer: Jarcy O'Day from Tuscaloosa, Al with IP: 68.62.125.10
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
Truly a delightful dining experience. Gracious staff and management. Excellent food and wine. The ONLY Italian Restaurant in Downtown Tuscaloosa.


Best Pizza in T-town!


Dated:Tuesday August 8th 2006 at 05:12:47 PM  
Reviewer: Pam Martin from Waukesha, WI with IP: 216.46.98.249
4 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
I love the food, and I love the atmosphere at this place! I regularly visited this restaurant when I lived in Tuscaloosa, and I miss it greatly now that I've moved. It's great to be able to watch the pizza toss. The meatball pizza is killer, and so are the meatball, onion, and cheese breadsticks. I haven't tried much but the pizza and breadsticks--why mess with perfection! You have to try this place if you haven't yet. It's by far the best Italian restaurant in the area.


Always a pleasant experiance


Dated:Tuesday July 25th 2006 at 01:30:44 PM  
Reviewer: Jim from Tuscaloosa, AL with IP: 12.6.120.34
4 stars: Service
4 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
The food here is consistently good and the service is always friendly.


Food was great , but Lauren made the night


Dated:Monday June 26th 2006 at 08:14:11 PM  
Reviewer: John from Tuscaloosa with IP: 69.246.182.72
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
4 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
I have always loved the food, but lauren our server made the night.


best atmosphere in tuscaloosa


Dated:Tuesday June 20th 2006 at 01:37:59 PM  
Reviewer: darrel mayo from northport with IP: 71.8.63.229
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
I've been going here for years and depalma's is the best restaurant i've been to. It's just barely good enough to be classy but far from being snooty. The wait staff are professional, friendly and seem to care about the customers. They don't hover around too much, they don't try to sell you the whole menu, and never rush me to finish and move on like most other places these days. We can really go and have a relaxed dinner there. On our last visit my wife and i were returning late from a trip to new orleans. We were just too tired to think and our waitress really took care of us. She suggested a white pizza, which was great, and recommended beers that went very well with it.


Best Italian place in town


Dated:Wednesday October 19th 2005 at 03:58:03 AM  
Reviewer: Retired Counsel from Northport, Alabama with IP: 70.151.49.194
3 stars: Service
4 stars: Food
3 stars: Atmosphere
4 stars: Overall
Admittedly, since I am of Sicilian heritage, I tend to be more critical of Italian restaurants (or those that purport to be Italian restaurants). DePalma's is the best overall Italian restaurant in Tuscaloosa, with the understanding that there are essentially only three (3) from which to choose. I would offer the following--1) the wait staff could be upgraded by the use of uniforms (not purchased at Old Navy), 2) your HVAC unit(s) should be replaced as it is always a little too warm (yes, I can see the kitchen), and 3) while close proximity dining is not a problem for me, it is nonetheless routinely too loud for anything other than casual conversation. I would highly commend their exclusive-in-Tuscaloosa acceptance of the routine European practice of allowing patrons to bring their own wines (with a small fee).






Site Map Copyright © 2005-2019 TuscaloosaRestaurant.com
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License.
Page generated in 0.13 seconds, 78 queries