Tuscaloosa Restaurant.com for your dining and entertainment needs.
Login
Username:

Password:


Forgot Password
Register
Tuscaloosa Restaurants at Tuscaloosa Restaurant.com
 
Web TuscaloosaRestaurant.com
Tuscaloosa Restaurants   Menus   Reviews   Jobs   Entertainment   Editor's Picks   Restaurant Owners   Contact Us   
Ads by TuscalooooooooooosaRestaurant
Tuscaloosa Events Calendar
Calendar of events for the Tuscaloosa, AL area.
Tuscaloosa Businesses
Find Tuscaloosa Businesses with maps, reviews and other information
Tuscaloosa Movers
Southern Moving Company in Tuscaloosa, Alabama.
Tuscaloosa Real Estate Agents
Find real estate agents in Tuscaloosa, AL.


Evangeline's

1653 Mcfarland Blvd N, Suite G4-A
Tuscaloosa, Alabama 35406
Phone: (205) 752-0830
Fax:(205) 752-0355

 

Click Here For More Information On Evangeline's

5 deleted reviews averaging 1.8000.


Restaurant Reviews for Evangeline's



Not what we expected.


Dated:Saturday September 3rd 2011 at 11:07:37 AM  
Reviewer: occasionaldiner from Tuscaloosa, Alabama with IP: 24.179.9.16
1 stars: Service
4 stars: Food
2 stars: Atmosphere
3 stars: Overall
When we saw the reviews for Evangeline's online we thought it would be a perfect place to spend our anniversary. Unfortunately, it was not the experience I wanted.



Service: I gave the service 1 star. The waitress who was serving us had a poor attitude, and seemed very disrespectful considering that this is a fine dining establishment. She took far too long with everything that she did, and was a huge dissapointment. Another waitress even brought her boyfriend into the restaurant and let him follow her around as she served people. It was very unproffesional. My final note about the service is that when we first arrived at the restaurant, the appetizer plate was dirty. That is not something I expect when I am paying sixty dollars for dinner.



Food: I gave the food 4 stars. I had the Tanglewood Farms Chicken, and my husband had the Filet Mignon. the Tanglewood Farms Chicken was fantastic. It was prepared perfectly, and the sauce was amazing. The Filet Mignon was really nothing special. We were hoping that it would be better than the average Filet Mignon, but it was not. The crab meat with the filet was very good. In all honesty, the food was the only thing about this restaurant that I would recommend.



Atmosphere: I gave the atmosphere 3 stars. It was set up very romantic, with nice low lighting and pleasent decorations. However, everything was VERY cramped together, and it was difficult to hear someone sitting accross from you because of how loud it was.



Overall Evangeline's scored 3/5 stars from me. The food was very good, everything else was not. If I were to go there again, I would definitely sit outside, and I would only give them 1 more chance to improve their service and cleanliness.


Simply amazing


Dated:Monday July 18th 2011 at 06:37:00 PM  
Reviewer: Brian Lowe from Tuscaloosa, AL with IP: 68.17.190.114
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
My experience at Evangelines is always incredible. The wait staff always makes our visit unique and the food is always delicious! I can't think of a better place to get a juicy filet or enjoy a fun martini with great people in Tuscaloosa.


My new favorite restaurant!


Dated:Sunday July 3rd 2011 at 07:49:09 PM  
Reviewer: Greg from Northport, AL with IP: 8.26.143.104
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
I DEFINITELY advise all - including friends and the pickiest of family - to try this restaurant. The servers, ambiance, and most importantly - food - are fabulous.



This was our first visit, and we all just picked the items we thought we'd like. Plates we tried (and loved): Tenderloin with potatoes and asparagus; Shrimp scampi pomadora with pasta; Pork chop (HUGE) with sauteed carrots and potatoes; Shrimp and Grits with asparagus; Tanglewood Farms chicken with green beans; Grouper with green beans and fresh veggies.



Sides: Saracco Masccato d'Asti (awesome fruity wine), Strawberry bruschetta, Tomato basil soup, "Cardini" (Caesar romaine salad) with parmesan (awesome).



Desserts: Sorry - didn't try these - we brought a cake and they plated then brought out at our request!



My wife and I threw our son and new fiancée an engagement party at Evangeline's this past Friday evening, and boy, what a GREAT place to have a quaint and private celebration. We had six meals, all different, and each of us had our own stories of just how delicious our meals were.



The managing partner, Mr. Simpson, was easily reachable, was there on site and greeted us, and was very, very approachable with our requests. The service was awesome and every employee we dealt with (5) was extremely gracious and accommodating. We requested quite a few special services: we brought our own cake, we asked for a sweet Moscato Asti that they didn't normally serve, as well as a special large table in a special place - each request was met with a "no problem"! The location was a touch hard to find, although we could see Highway 82 from the front door.



The outside was just as beautiful and elegant as the inside, with extra romantic touches thrown in. The parking was adequate, with direct access to spacious walkways and nice areas to kill time with a loved one or acquaintance. There is a fairly large man-made water feature near the front door, with quite a few places for pictures.



My wife and I have a new favorite restaurant. Try Evangeline's just once and I'm sure you'll agree! I don't know the owners, managers, or any of the staff - we just LOVED this evening so much that we wanted to take the time to say so.


Always like coming home.


Dated:Wednesday June 22nd 2011 at 08:25:37 AM  
Reviewer: Scott Taylor from Birmingham, AL with IP: 108.70.240.132
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
Being from Tuscaloosa, yet living and working in Birmingham, whenever we have friends in town or just want to have that "let's go out for dinner" experience as it were, there is never any debate, Evangeline's is the de facto.

The staff service is always impeccable, professional and knowledgeable, yet laid back and comfortable. The menu is pretty dynamic (their exec chef and David are never afraid to branch out) yet there are so many "go to" items that are always quality. The crab cakes and the chilled tenderloin for apps and the rack of lamb for an entree are always the staple for me, what can I say I am stuck in my ways. Great wine list and the best bar atmosphere around.



It has and always will be worth the trip, trust me.


Perfect for occasion!


Dated:Tuesday June 21st 2011 at 02:39:50 PM  
Reviewer: Anna from Birmingham, AL with IP: 74.240.67.131
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
Evangeline's never ceases to amaze me. Both their lunch and dinner menus are outstanding. The meals are perfectly presented, exactly the right portion, and nothing but pleasing to the palate. The service is excellent, and atmosphere is perfect for any occasion. This restaurant gets my biggest thumbs up. Next time you're there try the pear salad followed by the rack of lamb. Oh, and be sure to pair it with one of their fantastic wine selections!


An Incredibly Tasteful and Classy Atmosphere in Tuscaloosa. Incredible Food.


Dated:Monday June 20th 2011 at 06:59:06 PM  
Reviewer: Madison Miller from Atlanta, Georgia with IP: 74.82.64.144
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
Being from Atlanta, Georgia I have been to some incredible restaurants. I currently live there but I still crave the basalmic dressing from the summer salad with mandarin oranges. The chef is INCREDIBLY creative and is always coming up with fresh new takes on classics that everyone loves. Dave Simpson, the manager, is one of the most eager to please and is always goes above and beyond on anything from beautiful table setups, to extra candles and rose petals just because its your anniversary. The staff is incredibly polite and proffessional without being overly snooty. They're always right there when you need more water or another glass of Kris Pinot Grigio. From the romantic lighting, to the menu, to the incredible manager and staff I would most definately recommend coming to this incredible restaurant for every birthday, anniversary, work luncheon or just a relaxing candleit dinner on the patio. Five out of five stars every single time.


Shrimp and Grits


Dated:Monday June 20th 2011 at 06:08:54 PM  
Reviewer: John Sparks from Northport, AL with IP: 68.62.132.61
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
Great Atmosphere, great food and great service. My favorite overall and in my opinion one of the best dishes in town is the creole shrimp and grits. It's out of this world and I highly recommend it to anyone who appreciates top shelf cuisine. Throw in a choice of your favorite wine or mixed drink and you're on your way. Enjoy!


Best Fine Dining in Tuscaloosa


Dated:Sunday February 13th 2011 at 10:52:01 AM  
Reviewer: Ben Wilkin from Tuscaloosa, Alabama with IP: 69.246.180.252
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
We celebrated our Valentine's this year with dinner at Evangeline's. The atmosphere was friendly yet refined and the food was GREAT! We started off with a great bottle of Cabernet and Stuffed Mushrooms as an appetizer. We both ordered the Mesclun salad and the dinner rolls were even GREAT! My wife had the Black Grouper and I ordered the Filet. Both were cooked to perfection and we did not have one ounce of trouble at any point in the meal. Our server John was very professional and we did not want for anything the whole night. The dessert...now that was super excellent. We shared the Creme Brulee with fresh raspberries and it was perfectly prepared. Our favorite fine dining in Tuscaloosa!!


A Restaurant That Cares


Dated:Friday February 4th 2011 at 09:43:50 AM  
Reviewer: Matt Leavell from Tuscaloosa, AL with IP: 173.14.205.90
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
If you have ever asked yourself, "Where in this city can I get personal service from a restaurant that cares?" then you obviously have never experienced the importance placed upon your individual dining experience by the staff of Evangeline's. From the first time I experienced the restaurant, I have never been let down. The manager introduced himself and remembered my name a couple weeks later when I entered to check out the lunch menu. Which, by the way, was incredible and delightfully competitive price wise. Since then, I made the decision that I would never trust another restaurant staff to provide an environment that would be appropriate for important situations. Whether it is lunch with a client, drinks with a prospective client/friend, or dinner for a special occasion, I can be and will always be found at Evangeline's. Oh, not to forget, the food is absolutely excellent as well. This is the only restaurant I trust to deliver a filet to my specs, and I have never been failed as other restaurants continue to do.


Perfect night out


Dated:Tuesday August 26th 2008 at 01:13:15 PM  
Reviewer: Chase M from Tuscaloosa, AL with IP: 65.4.33.247
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
I took my girlfriend here for the first time and had a wonderful experience. The meal was timed perfectly, we never felt rushed. The portions were just right, and the atmosphere was great. I had heard the place was a little pretentious, but it wasn't at all. When we finished our meal we had a few after dinner drinks at the bar and were completely entertained by David and Justin. Great place!


Great food, service and friendliness with class


Dated:Thursday December 6th 2007 at 09:10:15 PM  
Reviewer: George Simpson from Athens, GA with IP: 65.13.5.211
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
Everyone having a good time and very friendly and the food was superb. Complete entertainment.


What a Wonderful Hidden Treasure!


Dated:Saturday August 25th 2007 at 10:30:55 PM  
Reviewer: Harold Nyholm from Tuscaloosa Alabama with IP: 68.62.132.193
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
I recently enjoyed my very first visit to this wonderful hidden restaurant. I can not believe what I have been missing all this time! I had no idea what to expect but immediately I was blown away by the cool, calm atmosphere. My Fiancé loved the romantic candle light at the bar table area. It was not too crowded, very upscale and the service was great! On top of all that, they have the food to back up. I don't usually like artichokes but we got the tempura fried artichoke appetizer and it was amazing. I was impressed with the menu, not only the variety but Chef Schofield really took it to another level with her Pasta Da jour also a hit at our table. I enjoyed the Rack of Lamb, which was perfectly cooked and seasoned. I can't think of anything I would want to change. I really enjoyed it and Evangeline's now has a customer for life. I was surprised at how close it is and it was a nice change from the food-rut I have been in lately. I would suggest everyone check it out, especially if you have a romantic date in mind!


Tuscaloosa's Finest


Dated:Monday April 23rd 2007 at 09:55:42 PM  
Reviewer: Will S from Nashville, TN with IP: 68.53.31.230
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
Dinner at Evangelines is always a treat. My wife and I travel to Tuscaloosa at least 10 times a year. It seems there is always a reason for traveling home to visit family. Each time I am in town there are two places I have to stop. First on my list is always Evangelines. We always enjoy whatever the staff has prepared. My wife is somewhat of a picky eater, but we always find something wonderful for her on the menu. The last time we dined at "our spot" the chef specially prepared her favorite entree. WE DIDN'T EVEN ASK!!! As soon as David Simpson and his staff knew we were in town, they prepared what she wanted. The crew at Evangelines is so attentive to their guests that it seems no stone is left unturned. we love Evangelines! I count the days until my next trip. Keep up the good work. Thanks to all.





Best Dining Experience in T'town


Dated:Friday March 16th 2007 at 10:10:51 AM  
Reviewer: Gavin Killam from Birmingham, Alabama with IP: 199.173.224.31
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
The dining atmosphere at Evangeline's was superb! The full meal presentation and taste were esquisite. I had a five course meal- a fanatastic swordfish and vegetable bouillabaisse, a delicious greek salad with a feta dressing, cheese grits and shrimp-WOW!- strip steak on a bed of mashed potatoes/gravy/grilled asparagus-unbelievable!- apple turnovers with ice cream and whipped cream-best I ever had.

The staff treatment was tremendous, and the chef's efforts were magical. The Executive Chef, Jason Bean, even came to our table to make sure we were satisfied with our meal! What service!

One of the most impressive dining experiences ever. This was not my first meal at Evangeline's, and it will certainly not be my last one, either!


Dining at its finest


Dated:Saturday March 10th 2007 at 10:53:48 PM  
Reviewer: Brad Okdie from Tuscaloosa, Alabama with IP: 68.186.179.143
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
4 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
If you are looking for dining at its finest than look no further than Evangeline's. The dining experience at Evangeline’s is unparalleled in Tuscaloosa. There are several pieces to a dining experience that factor into the over all experience: food, wait staff, ambiance, and price.

The food at Evangeline's excellent. Everything from appetizers to desserts explodes with tastes and aromas that will satisfy even the most conservative critic. Evangeline’s offers a variety of seafood, steaks, and pasta to suit any pallet. My entree consisted of perfectly grilled fish and pineapple over a sweet risotto along with a with snap peas cooked to perfection. The pineapple, fish, and risotto blended to form a mouth-watering entree I have yet to experience anywhere else in Tuscaloosa. Appetizers, salads, and soups are normally secondary to the meal in most dining establishments, not so at Evangeline’s. The appetizers, salads, and soups at Evangeline’s can be considered small meals in and of themselves. These items contain so much flavor that each individual item is a mini experience in itself. The fondue appetizer, Evangeline’s salad, and sweet potato soup all carried a sense of thoughtfulness with them. It was clear from the taste, as well as the presentation, that these items were not just thrown together on a whim and instead were the product of much thought and many taste tests.

Second, only to the food, was the wait staff at Evangeline’s. The wait staff at Evangeline’s allows patrons the opportunity to focus on the food and friends surrounding them. No longer will half of the dinner conversation focus around the lack of a refilled beverage or the length of time between courses. A dinner at Evangeline’s is a stress free experience in which your needs are met without a request (i.e., your beverages will be filled without being forced to ask). Although Chris (our waiter) waited on several tables during our visit, it appeared through his impeccable service, that we were his one and only table. This is an enormous feat for even the most seasoned of waiters. It appeared as though the entire wait staff were a well-oiled machine in which everyone knew his or her part and combined to deliver flawless service.

This unprecedented food and service all took place in an eloquent, contemporary decor. Evangeline’s interior can be described as a fusion of style and sophistication. Every inch of the interior appeared to be the product of a successful attempt at making a relaxing and inviting dining space.

In the end, if great food and feeling pampered is what you are after, Evangeline’s is the establishment for you. It will only take one experience at Evangeline’s to realize how wrong everyone else has it, and how great dining out can be.


A Treasure in Tuscaloosa


Dated:Friday January 19th 2007 at 09:02:34 AM  
Reviewer: Roz Grimes from Athens, GA with IP: 128.192.97.209
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
Whenever I am in Tuscaloosa.....I select this treasure of a restaurant! The atmosphere is calm and soothing and the food and service is superb!! I recommend this restaurant to all my colleagues. My highest compliements to the chef, servers, and management! BON APPETITE !!


Best Crab Cakes in Tuscaloosa!


Dated:Monday January 15th 2007 at 04:56:02 PM  
Reviewer: C. Moore from Tuscaloosa, AL with IP: 68.62.141.2
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
My husband and I recently dined at Evangeline's for our 3rd anniversary. We'd been in a few times before and decided it was the best place to go for our special night. We ("we" meaning my husband) didn't make reservations, but we were promptly seated by the window. I enjoyed a perfect lemon drop martini while my husband preferred to choose from their excellent selection of scotch. We ordered the crab cakes as an appetizer. I was a little apprehensive about this because he tends to be rather picky about his crab cakes. He ate his and most of mine, and exclaimed that they were the best he's ever had! That's quite a compliment, coming from the self proclaimed "King of Crab Cakes". Our waitress suggested an excellent bottle of wine to complement both my filet and his pork chop. Both were cooked to perfection. Compliments to the chef and to the entire staff at Evangeline's! Thanks for a perfect evening out.



A Very Special Birthday


Dated:Friday January 12th 2007 at 10:02:49 AM  
Reviewer: Mike Thornton from McCalla, Alabama with IP: 24.179.5.65
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
My son told his mother that he wanted to go to Evangeline's for his 13th birthday because he had heard so much about it. She let the wait staff and management know how special this day was to my son. Management made sure to let my son know that whatever he wanted for his birthday dinner was fine. He said he wanted steak and french fries and that was not a problem. At the end of the evening the wait staff brought out the birthday cake and everyone celebrated that special evening with our son. Each one of the wait staff and management made it a point to stop by and speak to my son and wish him a happy birthday. Everyone had a great attitude and demeanor. I would definately recommend Evangeline's to anyone!


Perfect First Date leading to a Flawless Engagement


Dated:Friday January 12th 2007 at 09:47:47 AM  
Reviewer: Angel Myers from Vance, Alabama with IP: 24.179.5.65
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
The first time I went to Evangelines was when my boyfriend at the time took me there on our first date. The atmosphere was spectactular and I was very impressed. Our table was already prepared and waiting for our arrival with everything from elegant candles, preselected wine and blush colored rose petals on the table. The wait staff was excellent and made it their goal to make sure that everything went perfectly. The food was great and I was made to feel like royalty. After that experience, we made a point to go back to Evangeline's on a regular basis. In November we went to dinner at Evangeline's for what I assumed was just a normal dinner. Boy was I wrong. Our table was decorated with roses and everything was perfect, just like our first date. I didn't have a clue until my boyfriend got down on one knee and proposed in front of everyone at the restaurant. Everything was tailored to making that night one to remember and that goal was accomplished. I recommend Evangline's to everyone I know who wants to have a more than perfect experience in every aspect!


A Most Pleasurable Dining Experience


Dated:Thursday January 11th 2007 at 12:10:15 PM  
Reviewer: George Simpson from Athens, GA with IP: 168.9.37.252
4 stars: Service
4 stars: Food
4 stars: Atmosphere
4 stars: Overall
The atmosphere was tastfully entertaining with the professional servers' attentive, pleasant and efficient presentation of a delightful dining experience. The food was particularly good with a wide variety of uncommon seasonings. I had a Greek salad, crab cakes, and swordfish with a vegetable melody. The quantity was satisfying, served at perfect temperature and unusually flavored. The swordfish was moist and perfect in texture. The personnel from the hostess to the visit from the chef was a special touch. The restaurant was immaculate in cleanliness including the restroom. The noise level was most acceptable particularly considering that the restaurant had a waiting line. You could carry on a conversation without straining.

This was my second visit and I will certainly return.


finally a fine dining establishment in Tuscaloosa


Dated:Wednesday January 10th 2007 at 07:51:15 AM  
Reviewer: shelly smith from tuscaloosa with IP: 56.0.143.25
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
After searching for sometime, i have finally found a place worth my repeat business.

Evangelines is a fine dining experience. I now tell my friends of this unique find in Tuscaloosa,so they dont have to travel to birmingham.

Everyone at evangelines made sure we had a peasureable night, and every request was seen to promptly. The manager even came by to pleasantly chat and ask us how everything was going with our meal.

I cannot say enough good things about our experience at Evangelines.


Consistently great


Dated:Sunday January 7th 2007 at 01:21:59 PM  
Reviewer: Landon Miller from Tuscaloosa, AL with IP: 68.216.158.98
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
My wife and I go here at least once a week. I have been a patron of this place for at least 3 years. I cannot say that I have patronized a restaurant consistently as long as Evangelines. Birthdays, Thanksgiving, anniversaries and parties alike. The reasons are basically because the food is great and Dave Simpson is an excellent host. He will do anything to make sure you are happy. We can stay late while they close the restaurant or sit at the bar after hours and hang out with the staff. It is a great place and if you are in town head up McFarland Blvd. and turn right at the Evangelines sign when you see it.


Best place in town


Dated:Sunday January 7th 2007 at 01:15:45 PM  
Reviewer: Dave Love from Santa Barbara, CA with IP: 207.154.83.80
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
I am in Tuscaloosa many times a year for work. When I am there I always go to Evangelines. Dave Simpson always makes me feel like a VIP when I arrive. They have an excellent wine selection and always have something new on the menu. I am sort of a snob when it comes to dining and the main reason I go here is because it is the most premier restaurant in town. I have eaten at most of the restaurants in town and this one is by far superior to the others. If you are traveling here and want to go out take a change at this place you will not be dissapointed.


Sophisticated Food


Dated:Saturday January 6th 2007 at 06:09:23 PM  
Reviewer: Kristen L. from Tuscaloosa, Alabama with IP: 76.18.118.41
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
Evangeline's offers upscale dining in Tuscaloosa, but it has a great, relaxed atmosphere.

The food is excellent and compares (or surpasses) the best restaurants in Birmingham. The wine list and martini menu are the best in Tuscaloosa.

Food and service are always consitently good. My husband and I can always count on Evangeline's for a beautifully presented and great tasting meal.


Why Isn't This Place World Famous?


Dated:Saturday January 6th 2007 at 05:50:07 PM  
Reviewer: Travis Junkins from Tuscaloosa, AL with IP: 68.17.191.79
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
My wife and I were recently celebrating our 15th anniversary and I wanted to take her somewhere very nice. I, however, forgot to reserve a table at any of the upscale restaurants in Tuscaloosa. We tried our luck at Cypress Inn and the wait was terrible. We went to Kozy's and they would not seat us. Then I remembered a client of mine telling me about Evangeline's so we headed there. We were seated promptly. The atmosphere was great. My wife loved the decor and she is an interior designer. The service staff was very nice and helpful, which is not too common these days if you ask me. Our food was brought to us in short time and it was amazing. And the prices were not shabby either. Evangeline's also has a great wine selection. We really enjoyed our time there and have been several times since. I suggest this place to everyone.


very elegant dining


Dated:Saturday January 6th 2007 at 10:26:26 AM  
Reviewer: Jamie Weston from Mccalla, Alabama with IP: 68.159.185.244
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
From the moment i walked in and was presented with their wine menu i was impressed by this fine dining restaurant.

The food and staff were exceptional. Its the first nice restaurant i have been to that actually had a "home" feeling to it,were i felt like a friend not just a customer.

It is now my primary elegant restaurant in Tuscaloosa or birmingham.



The Best Fine Dining I Have Ever Experienced !


Dated:Friday January 5th 2007 at 07:41:25 PM  
Reviewer: Calvin Speegle from Tuscaloosa, Alabama with IP: 76.18.114.237
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
I was impressed so much by the food and service at Evangelines that I have frequented the restaurant since my first experience over two years ago.

The food was perfect in both taste and presentation. I have ordered everything from the filet to the duck to the pasta and everything has been excellent.

The staff knew their jobs and performed them well and I could tell that they took pride in their work. I was very impressed in the fact that after only two visits the waiter I had (on both occasions)called me by name and knew what wine I wanted.

The environment was elegant and very enjoyable.


Refreshing Return to Tuscaloosa


Dated:Friday January 5th 2007 at 01:54:50 PM  
Reviewer: Ashley Alane from Birmingham with IP: 155.188.183.7
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
After living in Tuscaloosa for many years, I recently returned for a special graduation at the University of Alabama. We made lunch reservations for 15 after the graduation ceremony at Evangeline’s. When we arrived at the restaurant we were greeted by the enthusiastic staff and escorted to our beautifully set table. The menu selections were so amazing and the service staff was very knowledgeable about the food as well as excellent wine pairings. Our meal was paced perfectly and we thoroughly enjoyed our afternoon.



Dayna, David, Chef Bean and the entire Evangeline's staff continue to carry on a fine dining tradition like no other in Tuscaloosa. Congratulations on your continued success. Until the next time, Cheers!!!



Wonderful food, service, and atmosphere


Dated:Thursday January 4th 2007 at 11:33:34 PM  
Reviewer: Emily from Hot Springs, Arkansas with IP: 152.163.100.132
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
This was my first time to dine at Evangeline's and it was a wonderful experience. The food was great and was presented beautifully. The service could not have been better. The servers were able to take care of my every need, and most importantly were extremely nice. I even noticed the Manager made rounds to each and every table in the establishment to make sure their dining experience was at the highest standards. He was very professional and also like the servers was very nice. The environment of the restaurant is very unique. The bar area in Evangeline's is very quaint which is nice because once again you get the staff's full attention. I will definetly dine at this establishment again , and would recommend it to anyone.


Tuscaloosa's Hidden Treasure


Dated:Tuesday December 12th 2006 at 03:16:17 PM  
Reviewer: Jonathan Taylor from Tuscaloosa with IP: 68.220.206.247
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
I had not heard of Evangeline's until a friend of mine recommended the restaurant to take my girlfreind on her birthday. We were truly impressed with our experience. I had mentioned the birthday when placing the reservations and to my surprise they had decorated our table with red rose petals. The meal was excellent. It was apparent that they pride themselves with great attention to detail. I found everything to be reasonably priced as well.


Best Restaurant Around for Miles!


Dated:Sunday December 10th 2006 at 07:37:18 PM  
Reviewer: Kaylee Bohon from Tuscaloosa, Alabama with IP: 76.18.110.187
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
When I first stepped into Evangeline's, I was immeadiately greeted by a pleasant hostess, and my dining experience only improved from there. My server was extremely hospitable and had a great knowledge of the menu as well as an extensive wine list for me to choose from. Throughout my dinner, if I ever needed anything, I was responded to in a timely and courteous manner.



The food at Evangeline's is truly exquisite. From crab cakes to the filet mignon cooked to perfection and, finally, the key lime pie, everything was delicious. I highly recommend Evangeline's for anything from a private dinner for two to a large group out looking for a good time and a good meal.


A Gem in West Alabama!


Dated:Friday December 8th 2006 at 05:48:11 PM  
Reviewer: Jim H. Callahan from Tuscaloosa, AL with IP: 68.17.189.87
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
My wife and I have been looking for a restaurant in the Tuscaloosa area for years, but have always resorted to making the hour long trip to Birmingham, until now! Evangeline's is truly a unique and memorable dining experience. We recently had dinner there to celebrate our anniversary, and were greeted with the most hospitable staff and savory food. The extensive wine list made it easy to select a quality wine to accompany our Gorgonzola crusted New York Strips, and the atmosphere is second to none!

We returned the following week for lunch and the experience was just as enjoyable.

Keep up the good work guys!




Thanks, Jim C.


Best Restaurant in Alabama


Dated:Friday December 1st 2006 at 06:44:21 PM  
Reviewer: Tara Watts from Double Springs,AL with IP: 208.63.202.115
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
I have dined at Evangelines multiple times and the service was excellent. The food was presented beautifully and tasted even better than it looked. Desserts were above and beyond. It is a dining experience everyone should take place in.


Extremely Loud


Dated:Sunday July 30th 2006 at 02:25:54 PM  
Reviewer: G. Hall from Havana, AL with IP: 12.181.13.189
1 stars: Service
1 stars: Food
1 stars: Atmosphere
1 stars: Overall
This was the second time that we were unable to eat at Evangeline's. The first time we were turned away because we did not have reservations. The second time, with reservations we were promptly seated in a mostly empty dining area. The rousing niosy group in the bar (that is only separated from the dining area by a curtain)was so out of place that we were unable to stay long enough to enjoy a meal.


Top restaurant in Alabama


Dated:Friday January 20th 2006 at 11:28:01 AM  
Reviewer: W. F. Fulmer from Tuscloosa with IP: 152.163.100.132
4 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
Surprisingly sophisticated menue slections along with normal menue selections in an atmostphere where dress from casual to formal is welcomed. The food is absolutely tops! It is a shame it isn't a little larger bucause it is sometimes hard to get a table.


Fine Dining - North of the River


Dated:Sunday November 27th 2005 at 04:26:54 PM  
Reviewer: Kenneth Kuntz from Tuscaloosa, AL with IP: 68.212.192.45
4 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
4 stars: Atmosphere
4 stars: Overall
Friday night we returned to Evangeline's. We have always found Evangeline's perfect for that special occasion. Food is excellent and very creative. The service is well paced and will let you take your time if you wish and it would be a shame to rush. Exellent on old standard cocktails and a good selection of wine by the glass.

A smallish restaurant, so reservations are best at peak hours. Sophisticated decor, but not overwhelming. Better for an intimate dinner. A rousing, noisy group would be out of place. We found the serving sizes to be reasonable, not the current "Super-Sized" so common today.









Site Map Copyright © 2005-2019 TuscaloosaRestaurant.com
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License.
Page generated in 0.21 seconds, 166 queries