Tuscaloosa Restaurant.com for your dining and entertainment needs.
Login
Username:

Password:


Forgot Password
Register
Tuscaloosa Restaurants at Tuscaloosa Restaurant.com
 
Web TuscaloosaRestaurant.com
Tuscaloosa Restaurants   Menus   Reviews   Jobs   Entertainment   Editor's Picks   Restaurant Owners   Contact Us   
Ads by TuscalooooooooooosaRestaurant
Tuscaloosa Lawyers
Find Tuscaloosa attorneys by category.
Epiphany Fine Dining


Archibald's

1211 MLK Boulevard
Northport, Alabama 35476
Phone: (205) 345-6861

 
1 deleted reviews averaging 5.0000.


Restaurant Reviews for Archibald's



Great BBQ


Dated:Sunday January 8th 2012 at 02:38:28 AM  
Reviewer: Woody from Nashville, AL with IP: 98.193.228.34
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
My grandparents used to live in Northport and we would frequent Archibald's, now if I go within 50 miles of Tuscaloosa I make a detour to stop. This is not your run of the mill BBQ joint but it is the best place to get a true mix of Carolina and Memphis styles and is my all-time favorite BBQ place. Ignore all the other reviews saying the bread was too soggy, etc. this is just a side effect of morons learning how to use the internet. Make the stop, you'll be glad you did.


Meat so tender it literally falls off the bone!!


Dated:Saturday December 17th 2011 at 04:14:50 PM  
Reviewer: Mary from Meridian, MS with IP: 75.65.95.174
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
Have absolutely no complaints. Its a small, hometown rib-joint and that's what I like!! If you're looking for a "resturant"...go somewhere else. This is down-home cooking! I for one, LOVED IT! The ribs are awesome! Meat literally fell off the bone! I like the vinegar based sauce as well. I can't wait to go back!!


The worst BBQ i have ever had!


Dated:Friday November 4th 2011 at 03:13:34 PM  
Reviewer: Danielle Britt from Tuscaloosa AL with IP: 69.246.189.204
4 stars: Service
1 stars: Food
3 stars: Atmosphere
2 stars: Overall
I went to get a BBQ sandwiche the other day at Archibalds, my first time going. It was the worst one I have ever had. The bbq sauce was watery and the pork was fatty. The bread was so soggy i could not even pick it up. When i used a fork to eat it, the pork was very fatty and lots of salt, so I threw it away. Pretty expensive too- for just a sandwiche it was $7.00. I will not go there again. ***edited*** has the best BBQ in Alabama - I have tried others and you cant beat their sides and BBQ is awesome. I wish ***edited*** would come back to Tuscaloosa!


Great Ribs and Sauce & Friendly Service


Dated:Tuesday March 2nd 2010 at 02:29:53 PM  
Reviewer: Richard Bailey from Birmingham AL with IP: 65.14.201.178
4 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
4 stars: Atmosphere
4 stars: Overall
I had a great plate of large ribs today at the original Archibalds. The owner was in and was working the pit. His son was helping serve and very nice lady took our order. The place is small, but thats OK. I was there for the ribs and they did not dissapoint. The ribs were just right. The meat pulled away from the bone when I took a bite. The sauce was vary good. It was the thinner vinegar based sauce. I like this type of sauce as opposed to a thick sugary sauce. The folks were real friendly and the price was good. We got a large rib plate (about 5 or 6 ribs) lots of sauce and lots of white bread and a can drink for under $10. If you like BBQ... give Archibalds a visit. I will definitely go back!


Best of the south


Dated:Saturday September 5th 2009 at 11:03:28 PM  
Reviewer: Marina Newman from Carson city, NV with IP: 32.177.127.5
4 stars: Service
4 stars: Food
4 stars: Atmosphere
4 stars: Overall
Used to live in Tuscaloosa and Archibalds was a weekly favorite, a TRUE barbeque experience, not the sauce you can buy in a bottle for sure...


Just OK......


Dated:Thursday March 26th 2009 at 12:04:03 AM  
Reviewer: Mitch from Montgomer, AL with IP: 66.168.221.50
3 stars: Service
3 stars: Food
4 stars: Atmosphere
3 stars: Overall
This is what You call an old-fashioned "rib joint"....Personally I think it's a little over-rated....and is surviving on it's past reputation....Not hating or anything....but I do better than this any day of the week!!!!!


RIBS!


Dated:Saturday November 15th 2008 at 05:59:18 PM  
Reviewer: Jujijy from Tuscaloosa with IP: 68.62.152.200
4 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
i go for the atmosphere! i always take out-of-towners here ROOLLL TIDE


I am glad folks like my little BBQ joint. Ole George and Woody have been close friends for years.


Dated:Thursday March 20th 2008 at 06:04:38 PM  
Reviewer: Billy Lucky from Niceville, FL with IP: 72.155.148.67
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
The rib sandwich and pork plate are tops. That sauce is the best ain't it?



Please come again!



Roll Tide!


Finger licking good


Dated:Monday February 11th 2008 at 10:04:05 AM  
Reviewer: Mel Tharpe from Birmingham, AL with IP: 72.147.106.136
4 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
4 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
A number of years ago, I picked up a slab of ribs to take to the guys at my favorite beer joint in Birmingham, AL. While driving there I decided to try a nibble. By the time I got to my destination, I had nibbled the whole slab.


The best BBQ in Alabama


Dated:Sunday February 10th 2008 at 06:44:41 PM  
Reviewer: Paul from Birmingham, AL with IP: 68.220.254.53
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
I'd heard about Archibald's for years and finally had the time to seek it out; it is in an out of way place in Northport AL. There isn't much seating (5 stools) but there is some picnic tables in the parking lot. I welcomed the lack of atmosphere because the BBQ stands on its own.

We split some ribs and a BBQ sandwich... the ribs had a great flavor and I've never had any as tender elsewhere. The sandwich was sliced pork topped with vinegar sauce; both were great. I spoke with the owner as he worked and he was incredibly nice and welcoming.

I'll be back the next time I'm in T-town - it was a very nice experience.



I must stop by when you go through AL


Dated:Wednesday May 2nd 2007 at 11:37:21 AM  
Reviewer: Rachel Barnes from Fort Worth, TX with IP: 71.48.165.19
3 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
2 stars: Atmosphere
4 stars: Overall
I was raised on Beef BBQ here in the Lone Star State. I was introduced to Archibald's nearly 10 years ago by my then boyfriend who was a student at Bama. Roll Tide!

I went for a visit and heard things like "pulled pork" and "vinegar based sauce" and of course this was so foreign to me. I thought, "you can eat pork bbq? where is the beef?"

I saw the sliced white bread and thin sauce and wondered how this experience would be for me. Fully ready not to be impressed, I made a simple pork sandwich with that amazing bold and beautiful sauce and OMG, I have been hooked ever since.

When we pass through Tuscaloosa I demand we stop at Archibald's. I have since tried the ribs and find myself dreaming about and my mouth watering when I think of this special place.

I went this weekend to Talladega for the races and on our way through Tuscaloosa, we stopped and got a couple of pounds of pork to take with us on race day.

I have been known to pack a good cooler with ribs, sliced pork and extra sauce and trecking it home to Texas to share with friends. Even not right out of the pit, friends still rave as much as I do about the fantastic flavor and incredible sauce.

As for the atmosphere, well it is true you cannot take a large crowd with you unless you plan on eating in the parking lot, but once you try Archibalds, you will forever have a love of this place and its simple but delectable offerings.

*a side note- I also went to Dreamlands this visit, I mean how can you get enough BBQ, and did enjoy the ribs and atmosphere. I am not sure if it is because I experienced Archibalds first, but I prefer it over Dreamlands. I really think the sauce is the special something that wins it for me. *****


The Best BBQ Period!!!!!


Dated:Wednesday November 29th 2006 at 01:46:08 PM  
Reviewer: Marcus D. Benton from Decatur, GA. 30034 with IP: 168.8.249.165
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
Hands down the best I have ever tasted. My wife and I took one taste and we ate the rest in the parking lot. When we returned to my grandmothers house everyone asked, "I thought you guys went to Archibald's?" and we said, "we did" and everyone said at the same time, "you didn't make it out of the parking lot huh?" We are still laughing about it today. If you want some ribs that will make you eat them in the parking lot then visit Archibald's. As for me it's back to the drawing on my ribs and sauce


BBQ sauce at Archibald’s


Dated:Tuesday November 14th 2006 at 08:03:26 PM  
Reviewer: Paul Hamner from Tuscaloosa, Alabama with IP: 68.220.193.226
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
4 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
Archibald's

It has been around forever. The BBQ is very good. I have never found any one's BBQ sauce that tastes as good as Archibald’s. I go often to get a plate of ribs or pork. Try it, you will go back. Not the best looking place, the building has been there over 50 years in the same place. Family owned and run by them.



Not too impressive:


Dated:Friday August 4th 2006 at 06:29:44 PM  
Reviewer: WebMan from Northport, Alabama with IP: 71.8.11.241
1 stars: Service
2 stars: Food
2 stars: Atmosphere
2 stars: Overall
I wasn't too impressed with this place. I actually like Dreamland more. If I'm going to eat BBQ, Dreamland is the place!


Best BBQ in Tuscaloosa!


Dated:Tuesday March 7th 2006 at 01:04:29 AM  
Reviewer: BBQ Lover from Tuscaloosa, Alabama with IP: 68.224.206.159
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
4 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
Archibalds BBQ has to be one of the best places to eat in all of Tuscaloosa! I did however give them 4 stars for the atmosphere because there really is none. Although after going there a while, you just get used to it I guess. That's why it's not a 1. The meat is so tender yet a little "crusty" around the edges. The sauce is spicy and bold without burning a hole in my mouth. I eat there on special occasions like Alabama football games and I'm never let down.






Site Map Copyright © 2005-2014 TuscaloosaRestaurant.com
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License.
Page generated in 0.37 seconds, 82 queries