Tuscaloosa Restaurant.com for your dining and entertainment needs.
Login
Username:

Password:


Forgot Password
Register
Tuscaloosa Restaurants at Tuscaloosa Restaurant.com
 
Web TuscaloosaRestaurant.com
Tuscaloosa Restaurants   Menus   Reviews   Jobs   Entertainment   Editor's Picks   Restaurant Owners   Contact Us   
Ads by TuscalooooooooooosaRestaurant
Gulf Shores Restaurants
Help us write reviews for GulfShoresRestaurant.com
Tuscaloosa Rentals and Real Estate Epiphany Fine Dining Tuscaloosa Hotels
Find Tuscaloosa area hotels.


Nick's in the Sticks

4018 Culver Rd
Tuscaloosa, Alabama 35401
Phone: (205) 758-9316

 
3 deleted reviews averaging 3.3333.


Restaurant Reviews for Nick's in the Sticks



Very disappointed!!!!!


Dated:Saturday August 17th 2013 at 07:54:29 PM  
Reviewer: KC from West palm beach, Florida with IP: 166.147.123.37
4 stars: Service
3 stars: Food
3 stars: Atmosphere
3 stars: Overall
I'm very disappointed!!! We arrived and they said there would be an hour and a half wait. After an hour of waiting we watched several groups go in before us after they had just arrived. Obviously we didn't have the contacts they did and the food is so so.Very disappointed!!!!!!


Good as it gets!


Dated:Sunday October 21st 2012 at 08:11:43 AM  
Reviewer: Cindy Maddox from Lake view, Al with IP: 68.62.126.158
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
We eat at Nick's several times a year. It has always been good.

We usually arrive early, and wait till they open (to avoid the wait) While waiting someone usually comes outside to say'What ya'll doing out here? Come on in!!'

We go in , order a drink, and within a few minutes they take our Order.

We had onion rings, two drinks, the small filet. ( salad and potato included) cooked to perfection!

The great thing about this place is that it IS crowded. If you want a candlelit dinner with linen table linens-go somewhere else! This is a fun place! All ages from babies, to the elderly. The staff make it a fun, funky experience! Hint: don't wear 'orange'. They will ask if you're a Tennessee fan!

This is Bama Country! A really fun place with great food, at a reasonable price.















Best T-Bone I've ever had


Dated:Friday March 9th 2012 at 02:16:13 PM  
Reviewer: Kory from Tuscaloosa, Alabama with IP: 98.71.77.21
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
Nick's is truly one of Tuscaloosa's hidden treasures. The prices for a filet or T-Bone are so cheap that you probably can't buy and cook your own for any cheaper. The food is wonderful. Their ranch salad dressing is the best I've ever had and their "small" T-Bone was huge. It was the thickest steak I've seen and so juicy. The place is very small and it is a bar which may rub some people wrong but I like the atmosphere. Their drink prices are average for a bar in Tuscaloosa but you won't find better food without paying twice the price. Another thing people may not like is that the steak isn't really marinated...it just has that great steak taste. All in all I love Nick's and highly recommend it.


very good food


Dated:Wednesday April 27th 2011 at 10:29:00 PM  
Reviewer: bill drummond from rowlett texas with IP: 72.64.115.42
5 stars: Service
4 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
born and rasied in tuscaloosa never went to nicks but moved away in 1960 went back in 2011 always heard about NICKS from my dad it was greattttttttttttttttt i will be back next time i am in town server was fantastic staff was great lady at the door had every one under control went in on a sat nite wait was at least 5 mins ,,

i cant wait to get back,,,food was good......


What's all the fuss about Nick'?


Dated:Saturday February 26th 2011 at 05:29:08 PM  
Reviewer: Bethany S. from Tuscaloosa, AL with IP: 76.27.128.217
3 stars: Service
2 stars: Food
3 stars: Atmosphere
3 stars: Overall
Not only is it not worth the wait, but it's not even worth the gas it takes to get out to the 'sticks'. The steak is mediocre at best. I have eaten at a lot of great restaurants and unfortunately Nick's isn't one of them. I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone!



P.S. Their "specialty drink" which everyone seems to rave about is nothing but kool-aid, just FYI.


Relax and Enjoy


Dated:Sunday August 15th 2010 at 07:51:42 AM  
Reviewer: Chris from Evanston,Illinois with IP: 12.235.179.130
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
There are no reservations accepted and it is on a first come first served basis. The restaurant is on the smaller side. This is a perfect spot to come to, unwind, relax, and either catch up with old friends or meet new ones. The staff can not be any more friendly and professional. The food is well worth the wait. I'll be back again and again over the next 4 years


Best Ranch Dressing you'll ever eat!!!!


Dated:Wednesday March 17th 2010 at 04:32:37 PM  
Reviewer: samantha green from tuscaloosa with IP: 24.179.10.116
4 stars: Service
4 stars: Food
4 stars: Atmosphere
4 stars: Overall
Nicks is one of a kind and I hear the cook has been working there for 15+ years i think his name is johnny.He has one hand on him and can really cook a meat of your choice. The only thing that bothered me with him is when i asked to meet the cook he was really stinky!!! I mean, sure i know you've been working but the smell was like he had not bathed in a week, and aside from that his breath wreecked. But the server was awesome the wings and salad were great and i went back after a year once since that day. I have not been back because a roach or some type of bug was on my table so after ordering the last time I just get the ranch to go. Hope the cook smells better but im not being mean just saying.


Why didnt i know about this place?????


Dated:Monday March 1st 2010 at 07:45:23 PM  
Reviewer: danielle from tuscaloosa, alabama with IP: 98.71.96.117
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
This is the best steakhouse ever! the best steak i ever had, great service, and very laidback. i loved it! very fair prices when compared to any other steakhouse, and better steak! cooked to perfection. i just wish i would have new about it sooner. (before all the money ive spent at other restaurants for steak) like many other people i like a good steak, so i ordered the filet migon. it was wrapped in bacon and cooked perfectly medium rare. it was melt in your mouth greatness! the only reason i now know about this place is only because a ad for "restaurants in your area" popped up on my computer while online. this place is great! for anybody that is considering going dont think, just go. that is if you like good food, friendly people, and a down home atmosphere. also cant stress enough the great prices.


Best steak EVER!!!


Dated:Monday February 15th 2010 at 07:29:22 AM  
Reviewer: Jane from Carrollton, al with IP: 69.29.105.113
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
4 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
The filet mignon was awesome!!! My husband took me to Nicks for valentines, the first time either of us had been there. We had to wait about 45 minutes and it was freezing outside, but it was well worth the wait!! Definately plan on going back... probably wait til it warms up though!!


An Unpretentious Savory Surprise!


Dated:Tuesday July 14th 2009 at 02:02:05 PM  
Reviewer: Pam Preston from Cumming/Ga with IP: 174.49.81.227
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
4 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
When the guys from the office said we were going to Nick's in the Sticks for a filet-I thought, "Why would you go to a place like that?" Much to my the surpise of my palete, Nick's delivered a melt in your mouth tender treat in their delectible filet & onion rings, complete with salad & homemade dressing! Don't miss this off the beaten path experience if you are in the area! Their service is outstanding! And be sure to try the "Nicodemus" beverage while you wait for your table because you will wait but it is WELL worth it!! Can't wait to go back!


Tasted just as delicious as I remembered it 30 years ago!


Dated:Thursday June 18th 2009 at 09:33:30 PM  
Reviewer: Debbie Moore from Huntsville/Alabama with IP: 76.27.140.39
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
The best filet in Alabama!


worth the drive


Dated:Saturday June 13th 2009 at 11:58:19 AM  
Reviewer: kim from fairview, tn with IP: 74.241.146.245
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
My son went to a camp at the university and we stumbled upon this by accident and it was great. The service- "down home" and extra friendly. We had fillets and they were great. Traveling back to the university and making dinner plans for Nick's...


One of the "BEST" steaks I've ever eaten!


Dated:Monday October 6th 2008 at 01:47:30 PM  
Reviewer: M. Miller from Columbia, Kentucky with IP: 199.91.37.33
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
This place was great! We traveled down for the Kentucky vs. Alabama football game.

We had heard about this place and decided to see if we could find it!! Find it we did and we were so glad! Although we did pass it right up the first time. If I hadn't seen a picture of it on the internet, We might not have found it! It's a small little block building with no sign. As for the food, My husband had the large T bone (full of flavor and very tender) and I had the large filet. They were both great, as were the onion rings and the Ranch Dressing is awesome. I could drink the ranch straight! It had some blue cheese bits mixed in too! YUM !

I also tried one of the their famous Nicodemus drinks!! Wow, they taste like a delicious fruit punch but man do they pack a punch!!!

The staff was so friendly and the environment is fun and nostalgic!

Nicks is a definite "must do " if in Tuscaloosa! Prices are very fair too!!!

We got there at 5pm on Friday, just as they opened and was able to get a table with no wait, lucky us, but 1 hour later when we left the wait was 2 hours plus, so get there early!!


BEST steaks in town for the past 32 years!


Dated:Wednesday July 30th 2008 at 12:20:48 PM  
Reviewer: Patty Stewart from Tuscaloosa, AL with IP: 72.243.252.3
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
My husband took me to Nick's for the first time in September 1976 .. we have been going since then to enjoy some of the best food in town. The steaks are always cooked to perfection; the same great waiters are still there and are experts at their tasks; the laid back atmosphere and friendliness of everyone, patron and employee alike, is an experience that can't be beat. We celebrate many of our birthdays, anniversaries, and other special occasions because we love it there. The only complaint i have is that they used to serve stuffed shrimp that my husband loved but he has decided that the steaks are the best.


My Nick's Review


Dated:Monday March 24th 2008 at 03:01:42 PM  
Reviewer: Eric St. Clair from Tuscaloosa, AL with IP: 216.109.20.157
4 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
I love to take people to Nick's that have never been there before as their first impression of the joint is priceless. It's a small cinder block building with no sign. And you know what? That's fine because it doesn't need one.







Nick's in the Sticks is a Tuscaloosa gem. A true diamond in the rough. A Nick's steak is without a doubt a deliciously cooked masterpiece. Most steak places I've eaten at in town are a hit or miss. Sometimes cooked appropriately other times not. But at Nick's, it's never been anything but perfect...And I've eaten there a lot over the past 15 years. Adorning my steak is always its expected counterparts, the baked potato and salad. As you would expect, the salad isn't going to be getting any awards for the amount of various fresh greens and vegetables in it, but it's satisfying. Plus their house dressing is a blend of ranch and bleu cheese which is great to quench the thirst even the snobbiest of ranch dressing eaters. Namely myself. It's good.



But man/woman can not live on steak alone. No sir. There has to be a tasty beverage to wash it all down. Nick's has such a beverage aptly named the Nicodemus. Had a rough day at work? Had a rough week at work? Did your dog die? Did your wife get pregnant after you had a vasectomy? The Nicodemus is potent enough to cure all these ailments and more. It's red, will come with a lemon and cherry and be served in a styrofoam cup. Oh, and it'll be topped with a shot of 151 Bacardi. The rest of the ingredients are a secret but if I were guessing, I'd say it had rum, vodka, tequila and Hawaiian punch. And a little bit of love. Drink two of these and you'll know no pain.



When you get to Nicks, you're probably going to have to wait for a table. It's going to be that busy and there's only 10 or so tables in the place. Here's what you do. Get your name on the list and then go inside. Walk up to the bar and order a round of Nicodemi for your party. If you look like you're in college, have an ID handy for each drink you order because they will ask. Then go back outside and enjoy the patio, drinks and your friends. Just like most restaurants I eat at in this town, Nick's is laid back so leave your BA at home.



Intangibles:



1. Having a party of more than 6 will make it near impossible to get a table. I'd recommend a party of 4 or plan on sitting separately.

2. You won't get a check after your meal is done. When you're finished eating, walk up to the bar and point at which table you ate at.

3. Weekends at Nick's is the most crowded time. I've eaten there on weekdays and not waited for a table at all. So I recommend going during the week.

4. You can probably forget eating there on gamedays. But you probably already knew that.


Not worth the wait


Dated:Sunday March 2nd 2008 at 01:03:33 PM  
Reviewer: Tabatha from cottondale, al with IP: 68.62.133.41
5 stars: Service
1 stars: Food
3 stars: Atmosphere
3 stars: Overall
I just ate at Nicks for the first time. I have heard about how wonderful the steaks were and every time I passed by the place is packed out , so I thought hmmm got to try this, well I was in for a rude awakening... We got there around 6:15pm , we had to wait about 35 min. , finally once inside it was elbow to elbow, you feel like a mouse in a maze. Finally made it to the table, we were greeted by a waiter that took our drink orders, and we ordered gizzards for appetizer , they were so hard, tough, could not eat them. 3 of us got ribeyes , they were flat tasting, fatty, and hard on the outside and really raw looking on the inside. We were at a table by the bar and most of the time someones butt was in your face... people pack in around the bar while waiting to be seated. The place is so small the noise level is as bad or worse than a bar. The only good thing I can say is the waiter was wonderful. food was terrible.


GOOD OLE STEAK HOUSE


Dated:Saturday February 23rd 2008 at 11:47:38 AM  
Reviewer: Wesley Hauser from Tuscaloosa Alabama with IP: 74.237.171.209
3 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
4 stars: Overall
Very good service was very slow but it was a sat nigth around 6. food was great and price was great


Who needs a sign?


Dated:Saturday December 24th 2005 at 10:31:06 PM  
Reviewer: Becca from Tuscaloosa with IP: 68.62.139.131
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
I just went to Nick's in the Sticks last night. It was the first time in about 15 years, and the place hasn't changed at all ... except it now no longer has a sign (thanks to one of the many storms/tornadoes that have passed through over the years). It's a great hole-in-the-wall kind of place that you just cannot pass up. I treated a total of four people and got out of there with less than $60 on my credit card. Not bad, considering we all had steaks and alcohol (the famous house drink "Nickodemus," of course). The steaks were perfectly cooked. There's nothing fancy here. The atmosphere is on par with Dreamland. The ceiling is decorated with dollar bills, signed by loving and devoted patrons. Although Nick's is no longer in "the sticks," with the bypass only one block away, you still feel as though you're in another time and another place. Just don't miss it; there's no sign, so look for the packed parking lot!


Nick's in the sticks..deliciously downscale


Dated:Saturday December 10th 2005 at 03:21:59 PM  
Reviewer: Rod Walker from Tuscaloosa. AL with IP: 68.220.193.22
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
4 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
I've been a regular at Nick's since the late 70's. There's absolutly nothing fancy about it and you can easily tell that it's a low overhead operation.The history goes back to the 50's when Nick DelGado started a steakhouse that served beer in Greene county.Tuscaloosa county was dry as a bone at that time. The restaurant was just over the line in Knoxville and needless to say most patrons were from Tuscaloosa. Nick moved to the present location on the Eutaw highway when Tuscaloosa finally said goodby to prohibition.


I always get fried chicken gizzards as an appetizer. They bring you a bowl of hotsauce for dipping, they're great! The steaks are always good and cooked to perfection.The service is simply the best in town. Some of the waiters have been there for many years. There's one named William who I know has been at Nick's for more than 20 years. Most of the fixtures have been there at least that long as well. Like I said, it's deliciously downscale. It gets super crowded on some nights and noisy as heck. That's all OK with me. In all these years I've never had a bad experience at Nick's.






Site Map Copyright © 2005-2017 TuscaloosaRestaurant.com
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License.
Page generated in 0.10 seconds, 98 queries