Tuscaloosa Restaurant.com for your dining and entertainment needs.
Login
Username:

Password:


Forgot Password
Register
Tuscaloosa Restaurants at Tuscaloosa Restaurant.com
 
Web TuscaloosaRestaurant.com
Tuscaloosa Restaurants   Menus   Reviews   Jobs   Entertainment   Editor's Picks   Restaurant Owners   Contact Us   
Ads by TuscalooooooooooosaRestaurant
Gulf Shores Restaurants
Going to the beach? See where to eat in Gulf Shores and Orange Beach
Tuscaloosa Real Estate Agents
Find real estate agents in Tuscaloosa, AL.
Tuscaloosa Hotels
Find Tuscaloosa area hotels.
Tuscaloosa DUI Lawyers
Find Tuscaloosa DUI Lawyers.


Chuck's Fish


Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Phone: (205) 248-9370

 
3 deleted reviews averaging 2.6667.


Restaurant Reviews for Chuck's Fish



Best Restaurant in T-town!


Dated:Thursday March 24th 2011 at 09:49:05 AM  
Reviewer: Scott from Tuscaloosa with IP: 64.79.241.103
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
Last night was the first night my wife and I dined at Chuck's. We'd heard great things about it, but never had taken the opportunity to go. We were seated quickly, but it was a Wednesday night. I understand the weekends can be quite busy. Our drink orders were filled quickly, as well as bread being left as we looked over the menu. This bread is fantastic!

My wife ordered the mahi and I had the surf and turf, which consisted of a 12 oz steak, bacon wrapped stuffed shrimp, and garlic mashed potatoes. I also ordered a side of fried grits. I can't describe how fabulous this was!

The service was perfect, as well. I can't stand waiters that are asking every 5 minutes how things are, or if we need anything. He walked by occasionally and just looked to see if we were ok, and if I needed him I knew I could get him.

The food was fantastic! The service was great! And, the atmosphere was very nice!

We'll be back!


What kind of management is this?


Dated:Wednesday January 12th 2011 at 03:34:34 AM  
Reviewer: Brian S. from Tuscaloosa, AL with IP: 68.62.132.210
4 stars: Service
4 stars: Food
4 stars: Atmosphere
4 stars: Overall
My wife and I came in to Chucks this past Saturday night and parked ourselves at the bar. The bartenders and the waiting staff were friendly and helpful. The food was good. The night was going well as we were making friends with everyone at the bar. Until we saw how the so called manager was treating his staff. By snatching up a young lady, by the wrist and verbal abusing the rest! Hopefully someone has alert HR/senior company management to the situation. Someone should put a stop to it even if this isnít discrimination. Nobody should be treated this way. Period.





Best seafood in town


Dated:Sunday August 29th 2010 at 05:07:52 AM  
Reviewer: Bob P from Tuscaloosa, AL with IP: 75.216.111.238
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
We have have dinner at Chuck's every 2-3 weeks and it is always a great experience. Last night the grilled snapper was excellent and the side dishes were flavorful. The wedge salad was crisp and the dressing very tasty. The gumbo has a great flavor, but my preference is a bit more pepper, which a few splashes of hot sauce will take care of. As always, the service was top notch and the martinis were perfect.


Good food but slow, unacceptable service


Dated:Wednesday July 14th 2010 at 12:06:19 PM  
Reviewer: Kirk L. from Marietta, GA with IP: 98.71.70.200
2 stars: Service
4 stars: Food
3 stars: Atmosphere
3 stars: Overall
We had tried to eat at Chuck's several times over the years after hearing how great it is. Alas, the no-reservation policy means that the wait times are 1-3 hrs on weekends; too long. (A high end restaurant should accept reservations in our opinion.)



Nevertheless, we were able to finally try Chuck's this week while visiting our daughter in college. The food was very good (we had sushi, and two of the main course fish dishes). However, we waited well over 1 hour for our meal to arrive after ordering. The waitstaff seemed to be both overscheduled and indifferent. We had to actively seek out staff members for updates as the time dragged on. At one point we became convinced that our order had been misplaced/forgotten... The entire meal took 2.5 -3 hrs. Thankfully, we had plenty of time to kill.



We have enjoyed many fine meals in our travels throughout the world, however, Chuck's just does not offer the service and overall experience one would expect for the price. We will not return.


Awesome place for a vistor!


Dated:Thursday February 11th 2010 at 05:02:02 PM  
Reviewer: jenny from mobile with IP: 184.49.102.168
3 stars: Service
4 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
4 stars: Overall
Definitely would go again. The bread is to die for and the atomosphere is fabulous.


Shocking Management


Dated:Friday December 18th 2009 at 02:50:41 PM  
Reviewer: Heather from tuscaloosa, al with IP: 75.138.40.191
2 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
3 stars: Atmosphere
3 stars: Overall
I come in to chucks in Tuscaloosa at least one a month. For their great sushi and fresh seafood. But this last visit wasnít so great to think about it, it was horrible.

Six coworkers and I came in around seven they had never be there before so we were expecting a great experience and to discuss and plan our Christmas party. (I told them before hand how great it would be to have it there. But after that night we all decides it wasnít the best place.)To start off after being seated, we waited almost twenty minutes for our server to greet us. They wasnít even busy. She brought our drinks and some bread and said she would be right back to take our order. Which took another twenty minutes. When she finally came back after we had sat there watch her flirting with the blonde headed manger, trying desperately to get her attention. She took our appetizer, sushi, and entrees orders. So we when ahead and order some more drinks because we didnít know when we would see her again. And boy were we right, she didnít bring any of our food and the boy that did and had to get him to grab us more water, sauces, chopsticks, and etc. We didnít see her again until we was almost done with our meal. She ask if we were ready for our check and when we told her no, we were planning on get some desserts. She got a bad attitude when we ask for the dessert menu which make us not even want to order from it. Between the brunette bad attitude server and the blonde headed manager yelling and screaming at his employees. All in all the food was great service was dreadful.



Super Fresh Seafood


Dated:Tuesday June 2nd 2009 at 12:00:20 PM  
Reviewer: Wayne Greenhaw from Montgomery, Alabama with IP: 189.177.79.10
4 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
Chuck's Fish has the freshest seafood on any inland restaurant I've ever tried. The red snapper is not only flaky fresh, it's cooked to perfection. When we had shrimp there, my wife and I raved about the fine way it was fried. Most of the time, the service has also been superb. Only now and then did the wait staff slip up. All in all, it is magnifico!


Great food, great atmosphere.


Dated:Monday May 19th 2008 at 08:18:44 PM  
Reviewer: Rosie Kazarovich from Tuscaloosa, AL with IP: 64.12.116.134
4 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
After moving here from a larger city, it was nice to find Chuck's Fish in this small college town. For the past year, my boyfriend and I frequent Chuck's and are NEVER disappointed. From their sushi to any of their main dishes, the food is always fantastic. We also truly enjoy the atmosphere. It has a "big" city feel in a small town, which we really like. The service is generally very good. I also enjoy eating at the sushi bar on occasion since the staff there is wonderful at making yummy recommendations. We have never had a problem waiting for a table, but we tend to eat dinner a bit early.


Great Jazz and good food!


Dated:Sunday July 29th 2007 at 01:44:48 PM  
Reviewer: Maria from Tuscaloosa with IP: 68.62.115.46
3 stars: Service
4 stars: Food
4 stars: Atmosphere
4 stars: Overall
When you live in a town where you have a limited choice of restaurants, every restaurant you go to counts. Being new in town, we had heard about Chuck's from new friends and finally went to try it out one evening. The atmosphere was great. The 3 man band was incredible as one jazz tune rolled off another. Conversation was hard, as would be expected when the band is live. I had the crabcakes and they were to die for. My husband ordered the prime rib and had to return it because it was too fatty, although he had asked the waitress to please ask the Chef to cut him a lean piece. The waitress did not apologize. My daughter's sushi was good as was the fish plate my mother ordered. Overall the food was above acceptable, except for the prime rib. The waitress seemed new and was not too attentive, leaving us for 20 minute bouts at a time without checking on us, and bringing my daughter's sushi only after she had served all the adults and I had to remind her 20 minutes later about the sushi. Overall, for a small town, Chuck's has a big city atmosphere. The food and spirits are good... the jazz is great and the service could use some help. Try it out.


Best Ever Sushi


Dated:Tuesday June 5th 2007 at 11:51:55 PM  
Reviewer: restaurant rater from northport, al with IP: 76.18.99.47
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
4 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
Sushi-excellent at great prices. However, entrees are steep but worth it. My husband says the rib eye was the best he'd ever tasted. I had the grouper which was great, good sauce. I liked the atmosphere. Seated immediately on a Friday at 8 pm. Although, the restaurant is loud. I will go back for a special occasion. Our bill for two was 100 with sushi, salads, and drinks. But to order the sushi alone for a meal would be a steal for the taste. Lower the prices & we'd be regulars!


Crab cakes = amazing


Dated:Thursday May 10th 2007 at 09:24:27 PM  
Reviewer: Jennifer from tuscaloosa, alabama with IP: 76.27.132.174
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
The food presentation was beautiful. We were seated immediately. The food was fabulous. Great taste. If they lowered their prices....it would be near perfect.


Great food, inconsistent service !


Dated:Wednesday February 14th 2007 at 08:25:27 AM  
Reviewer: Daily Diner from Tuscaloosa,AL with IP: 68.17.128.8
3 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
I eat in local restaurants practically every day, thus my chosen title "Daily Diner."



When I want to go to a "nice restaurant" locally, Chuck's is easily one of the few really good choices in town.



The specials are generally a much better value than the regular menu.

The prime rib special on Wednesday evening and the Monday-Friday blue plate lunch specials are especially good deals.



Most of the waiters there are very good-to-excellent, but the last time I went, I got a dud. The older waiter basically ignored my table when a larger table came in later. The waiter apparently had served the people at that other table before at some other restaurant years ago. I guess they must've tipped well, because he spent all of his time talking to them or to other waitstaff in the kitchen. It took 30+ minutes after we were through with our meal just to get our bill, which is simply unacceptable on a business lunch and inexcusable on a light day when there were probably as many waiters as tables.



Despite that one "off" experience, though, I'd still recommend Chuck's Fish as one of Tuscaloosa's nicest restaurants. Every other time I've been (probably 8-10 times) has been good.



Waiting Time


Dated:Saturday February 10th 2007 at 01:30:28 PM  
Reviewer: Colby Martin from Tuscaloosa Alabama with IP: 68.62.154.56
3 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
They need better seating arrangements so people wouldn't have to wait so long for a table. My girlfriend and I waited for an hour and forty five minutes on a table just for two!! But I guess when your at the best seafood place in town, waiting shouldn't matter!


Reservations!!!!


Dated:Thursday December 7th 2006 at 12:39:46 PM  
Reviewer: Patron from Tuscaloosa, AL with IP: 216.109.5.50
3 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
4 stars: Overall
I loved this place & the food however they do not take reservations.

We tried to make reservations for 10 but was told they did NOT take them.

We were told seating a party of ten would not be a problem.

We waited for 1 1/2 hrs. When we thought we were about to sit down, two ladies sat down. They had come in after us. We checked to see what was going on. We were told they had a 6:30pm RESERVATION. We could not believe it. We were finally seated & able to eat.

I thought our reservation experience was terrible. If you say you do not take reservations, do not take them.


I love sushi


Dated:Monday October 23rd 2006 at 02:28:26 PM  
Reviewer: Kelly Chronister from Tuscaloosa, AL with IP: 130.160.116.127
4 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
My boyfriend and I went to eat there and loved it! The service was great and not to mention the wonderful food! It is a little expensive for college students, but its definantly worth it!


Best Seafood In Town


Dated:Friday September 22nd 2006 at 06:35:49 PM  
Reviewer: Oscar Goff from Northport, AL with IP: 68.62.126.224
4 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
This place has it all: great sushi, excellent fish, and expectedly good wine and bread. Because I am from New Orleans, LA, I tend to distrust seafood this far from the coast. So far, my instinct has been right until Chuck's came to town. This place is the best around the Tuscaloosa, AL area. The only problem it has is its prices. For two entrees, two glasses of wine, and a sushi roll it cost 95 dollars. Most dinner entrees are 20 dollars, but that's only 3-5 dollars more than you would expect to pay closer to the source.


Good addition for downtown


Dated:Monday September 11th 2006 at 09:03:06 PM  
Reviewer: Rod Walker from Tuscaloosa with IP: 65.4.46.211
5 stars: Service
4 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
The place looks almost identical to to last restaurant to occupy the space, "The Mezzinine". One notable difference is the folk art displayed on one of the walls, and crimson tide memorabilia on the other. The wait staff wear simple black T-shirts giving the place a much more casual feel than the Mez. The food was great and so was the service. The only dissappointment was in a dessert we ordered.The Tiramasu arrived frozen as hard as a rock.The manager insisted that that was the way it was supposed to be.I don't think so.

The place is a bit pricey but not quite as bad as I had imagined.We got out for around $60.00.






Site Map Copyright © 2005-2017 TuscaloosaRestaurant.com
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License.
Page generated in 0.13 seconds, 93 queries