Tuscaloosa Restaurant.com for your dining and entertainment needs.
Login
Username:

Password:


Forgot Password
Register
Tuscaloosa Restaurants at Tuscaloosa Restaurant.com
 
Web TuscaloosaRestaurant.com
Tuscaloosa Restaurants   Menus   Reviews   Jobs   Entertainment   Editor's Picks   Restaurant Owners   Contact Us   
Ads by TuscalooooooooooosaRestaurant
Tuscaloosa Movers
Get your fast and easy quote for your Tuscaloosa move.
Tuscaloosa DUI Lawyers
Find Tuscaloosa DUI Lawyers.
Restaurant Voting
Vote for Tuscaloosa restaurants in categories.
Tuscaloosa Hotels
Find Tuscaloosa area hotels.


City Cafe

408 Main Avenue
Northport, Alabama 35476
Phone: (205) 758-9171

 
0 deleted reviews averaging .


Restaurant Reviews for City Cafe



Down Home Delight


Dated:Sunday July 25th 2010 at 01:21:04 PM  
Reviewer: Bee Burns from Tuscaloosa/Alabama with IP: 71.8.58.59
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
My family and I have been eating at City Cafe since we were little bitty and now my husband and I have continued the tradition with our kids who are ready to start their own traditions at CC! Three generations and still going! We love the simplicity of the cafe- no fancy frills just like coming home for dinner at Mama and Daddy's house! The staff is friendly and efficient. The food is ALWAYS the best homecooking you will ever eat. The price is incomparable! Why eat a burger and fries at a fast food joint when you can have a plate PILED with vegetables and meat? There is always a line and it's often noisy with folks talking and greeting friends, but hey- if you hanker for home, you have to visit City Cafe. You'll start your own CC tradition!


Miss it so so so much


Dated:Wednesday September 9th 2009 at 02:36:47 PM  
Reviewer: Keri Kadein from Clearwater, Florida with IP: 67.78.138.130
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
City Cafe was a way of life if you were a student at the University of Alabama. Man i miss those days of getting there and waiting inline hovering over all the other people waiting for them to get up so you could steal a seat oh and sweet tea with so many refills and the best home cooking ever. I cant wait to go back to t-town and have it again. It has been 3 1/2 years. I would have my friends mail it to me if they could. im getting hungry just thinking about it.


I love the C.C.


Dated:Wednesday December 31st 2008 at 04:17:53 PM  
Reviewer: Nina Ross from Tuscaloosa,Alabama with IP: 68.220.229.200
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
Wow its been a while since I've ate there but the chef salad is so good and they fill it full of lettuce,ham,cheese etc. Very good! Best in Northport....xoxo


Love it!


Dated:Monday September 22nd 2008 at 10:25:00 AM  
Reviewer: B. Barrier from Mount Sterling, Kentucky with IP: 12.231.143.130
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
I was introduced to City Cafe as an undergraduate student at the University of Alabama. Teammates and myself would often skip class to get in line early enough to not have to wait on that oustanding food. My order was always the same, fried chicken breast, mac and cheese and double fried okra and of course sweet tea. The people are so friendly especially waitresses. Matter of fact, after i left Alabama and moved back to Ky with my husband it had been two years since i had gone in there and my waitress remembered my name. It again has been two years since i have made a trip to Tuscaloosa but we will be there this year for the bama vs. Kentucky game, i'm taking off work friday so we can leave thursday night all because we want to have lunch at city cafe. I'll be eating there and taking a to go order home with me. There's no place like it in the world. Gotta love it.


Simply the BEST!!!


Dated:Saturday July 26th 2008 at 04:35:52 PM  
Reviewer: Whitt from Atlanta, GA with IP: 75.201.97.80
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
Like many people, I was first introduced to City Cafe when I was an undergrad at Bama. I remember going there every single Tuesday and Thursday of my junior year! Not to say I didn't go most of the other weekdays as well. What is great is that I still love going to City Cafe. I have taken a day off from work several times just to drive four and a half hours to T-town to eat there. I mean, you simply can't beat the environment and those delicious candied yams. The fried green tomatoes are amazing and fried catfish... WOW! If you have not experienced this place, please don't waste another day!


THIS IS LIKE I WONDERLAND!!!


Dated:Sunday March 30th 2008 at 03:19:46 PM  
Reviewer: JOY LYNN WILSON from TUSCALOOSA, AL with IP: 69.246.190.156
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
THIS PLACE IS THE GREATEST IM SO GLAD I HAVE FOUND IT ITS LIKE IT WAS HEAVEN SENT!!!! THE FOOD IS GREAT MAGNIFICENT AMAZING!!!!! I LOVE EVERYTHING ON THEIR MENU!!! THE PRICES ARE AT THE BOTTOM OF THE MANY GREAT THINGS ABOUT THIS PLACE BECAUSE I WOULD EASILY PAY MORE FOR THE FOOD!!! THEY HAVE A SPECIAL WAY OF MAKING YOU FEEL IMPORTANT AND WELCOME ALSO A MAJOR PLACE TO ANY RESTAURANT!!!!! SHOT OUT TO BECKY THE BEST WAITRESS IN THE WORLD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

ONLY ONE COMPLAINT THEY ARE NOT OPEN ON THE WEEKENDS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Hasn't changed in 6 years


Dated:Thursday December 13th 2007 at 12:14:02 PM  
Reviewer: Johnny Cochran from Tuscaloosa, Alabama with IP: 76.27.140.21
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
I've been eating at City Cafe for the past 6 years. 90% of the time I've been getting the same thing (fried chicken, creamed corn, mac and cheese, mashed potatoes with gravy, and black eyed peas with the best sweet tea in town). The servers are all great...probably some of the nicest people in the world. I try to go 2 or 3 times a week and at $5.something, its hard to beat great food for cheap. Everytime I'm with friends and there is a debate on where to eat, City Cafe is the final decision. And whenever the holidays roll around, City Cafe is usually on the agenda of things to talk about. I even turned my dad, who has never liked this type of food his whole life, into one of the many supporters of City Cafe. I love it!! In fact, all this talk has made me hungry...I guess I know where lunch will be. Take care


If it aint broke, don't fix it!


Dated:Tuesday November 13th 2007 at 11:19:57 AM  
Reviewer: Keya from McCalla, Alabama with IP: 199.173.226.232
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
This is hands down the best place to eat in Tuscaloosa. If I'm taking the time out to write a review, trust me it has to be good! The waitresses are really good. They take really good care of you while you are there. At some places, you know how you feel that your waitress/waitor is only working for the tip, well not at this place. They are genuine. My personal favorite is the hamburger steak w/ gravy and onions, mashed potatoes, fried okra, green beans and canned yams, ummmmmm. ha ha! Oh yeah, the tea with crushed ice too. All for right around $5 and some change. Only open Monday through Friday. Anytime I'm in Tuscaloosa during the week, I have to stop by. My wife, friends, co-workers, etc know what the routine is. If you've never had it, it's worth the experience and it's a really good bargain. If you are a out-of-towner, this is a must go! Until next time...


Homecooking


Dated:Monday January 29th 2007 at 02:36:51 PM  
Reviewer: Hayne from Ann Arbor, MI with IP: 157.252.172.200
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
I grew up in Northport and remember going to the City Cafe often. They have cheap, good eats that hadn't changed a bit when I went and visited last summer. Even the waitresses hadn't changed and still remembered who I was. The line does look intimidating at first, but like everyone said, it moves along quickly. If you want great homecooking and lasting memories, hit up the City Cafe!


A must try if you live in the Tuscaloosa/Northport area


Dated:Saturday November 18th 2006 at 12:39:07 AM  
Reviewer: Kristy from Tuscaloosa, Al with IP: 69.247.103.248
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
This is the first place I take people when they move to Tuscaloosa, or when someone visits from out of town. If you live in Tuscaloosa/Northport and you have never been here you have not really experienced true Tuscaloosa tradition. The waitresses treat you more like a friend than a customer. Your glass of sweet tea will rarely be empty. Try the veggie sticks! You haven't lived until you've been to cafe before dawn.


This place should have 2000 reviews by now.


Dated:Wednesday November 1st 2006 at 11:30:57 AM  
Reviewer: john from tuscaloosa. al with IP: 130.160.232.250
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
For me this is the place to eat in tuscaloosa and northport. I first came here 7 years ago for undergrad. My first day here the people in my dorm came around and were looking for people to go to City Cafe. They kept raving about how cheap it is and the sweet tea is awesome and you get a ton of food so I tagged along mostly to expand socially as I needed to meet people. Well when we got there is was a huge line and I thought we would leave but they said don't worry this line moves fast. Well they were right we were seated in about 10 minutes. And ordering a meat and 4 vegetables was overwhelming and I failed to finish. however the food was so great and the sweet tea is a must have. I've been back about 80 billion times since then in my 7 years in tuscaloosa.

I fee obligated to take newcomers so they can experience the wonderful food for a low price and meet the great ladies who have served me for so long. This si the restaurant you go to when you want to be served by a friend not just a waitress.


The best food and sweetest waitresses


Dated:Tuesday March 21st 2006 at 03:59:26 PM  
Reviewer: Wendy Toulomelis from peachtree city, ga with IP: 167.192.16.19
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
What stands out most in my mind is the line out on the sidewalk at 5 in the morning and again at lunchtime. The waitresses are so nice and have all been working there forever. The food is awesome and you get more sweet tea than you ever thought possible. I've tried everything there. The lines are little long and it's loud in there, but worth the wait just to eat the food. I come home from Georgia just to eat there. Try the fried chicken, salad, mashed potatoes,stuffed eggs and macaroni!


Best food in northport!


Dated:Thursday March 16th 2006 at 10:56:29 AM  
Reviewer: Steve Howell from Matera, Italy with IP: 84.222.165.93
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
This resturant has the all-around best food. The atmosphere of a small-time diner with a new-flare to it. The fried okra and the fried catfish are my personal favorites! A nice glass of sweet-tea to go along, and you're all set! Living in Italy now, I can't wait to come back to the USA in July and head down to City Cafe! I highly recomend!






Site Map Copyright © 2005-2019 TuscaloosaRestaurant.com
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License.
Page generated in 0.14 seconds, 74 queries