Tuscaloosa Restaurant.com for your dining and entertainment needs.
Login
Username:

Password:


Forgot Password
Register
Tuscaloosa Restaurants at Tuscaloosa Restaurant.com
 
Web TuscaloosaRestaurant.com
Tuscaloosa Restaurants   Menus   Reviews   Jobs   Entertainment   Editor's Picks   Restaurant Owners   Contact Us   
Ads by TuscalooooooooooosaRestaurant
Gulf Shores Restaurants
Going to the beach? See where to eat in Gulf Shores and Orange Beach
Tuscaloosa Rentals and Real Estate Restaurant Voting
Vote for Tuscaloosa restaurants in categories.
Tuscaloosa Menus
Find various menus for restaurants in Tuscaloosa.


Cypress Inn

501 Rice Mine Road North
Tuscaloosa, Alabama 35406
Phone: (205) 345-6963
(123) 456-7890
cypress_back.jpg cypress_river.jpg
2 deleted reviews averaging 2.5000.


Restaurant Reviews for Cypress Inn



Things are on the up :)


Dated:Friday July 29th 2011 at 03:25:40 PM  
Reviewer: Kyle L. from Tuscaloosa, AL with IP: 99.173.136.231
5 stars: Service
4 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
Great view. Great service. The newly renovated Sand Bar with Thursday night live music is a great new addition! The fish tank is back in working order, and full of local species. There have been new management changes that have really turned the place around, or rather, back to where they were to begin with. The food is excellent, Catfish and Smoked Chicken, always the staple, always right. The shrimp and grits are to die for, as well! Clean, orderly, quiet. Great :D


Things are changing!


Dated:Tuesday July 7th 2009 at 06:41:11 PM  
Reviewer: Michelle Landry from Tuscaloosa, AL with IP: 12.71.254.68
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
I eat here once every two weeks and have yet to be let down. There is wonderful new management, who really care about the customers. Parker, one of the managers, always makes sure to stop by each table to check on everything and see how you are. Our server the last time we went was outstanding! He was very attentive and seemed delighted to be serving us. It made our meal that much better! The smoked chicken is always one of my favorites, however, the special is normally the 'special' for a reason... it's always a great choice. The bartender made our drinks perfectly and our food was outstanding. I couldn't ask for more at a local restaurant. It sounds as though things were not so great in the past, but with all the changes being made there things are definitely looking up! Go try it out again!


Favorite Place in town


Dated:Tuesday March 24th 2009 at 06:50:40 PM  
Reviewer: Jordan from Tuscaloosa, Alabama with IP: 68.62.140.53
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
Great view, great food. I love the smoked chicken split rolls. The chicken is put in there amazing dinner rolls and the perfectly cooked chicken. Dipped in white bbq sauce and it is an explosion in your mouth. All of that comes with 2 sides and under $10 makes this place affordable and amazing for all customers.


the worst roast beef i have ever tasted,like rubber,food very bland


Dated:Saturday December 22nd 2007 at 08:59:49 AM  
Reviewer: m. wilson from tuscaloosa,alabama with IP: 69.244.5.25
1 stars: Service
1 stars: Food
3 stars: Atmosphere
2 stars: Overall
nice view of the river,the food was tastless, bland,roast beef very dry and overcooked,this is the third time this has happened to me at this resturant.I have enjoyed eating here in the past, and will not be back.


Just Not Like It Used To Be


Dated:Friday October 12th 2007 at 04:39:07 PM  
Reviewer: John from Tuscaloosa, AL with IP: 68.186.184.173
3 stars: Service
3 stars: Food
4 stars: Atmosphere
3 stars: Overall
In the past this has been one of our favorite places to celebrate or to just get out for a quick quiet drink. Since the renovation of the Sandbar the entire atmosphere has changed. The addition of live music on Thursdays is a move in the right direction. Unfortunately the food has become mediocre at best. Some of the old staples are still good but not consistently so. This is no longer our weekly place to go.


Sadly disappointing.


Dated:Saturday September 22nd 2007 at 07:42:31 PM  
Reviewer: Susan Tily from Tuscaloosa, AL with IP: 68.220.228.47
3 stars: Service
2 stars: Food
2 stars: Atmosphere
3 stars: Overall
We have recently moved here from Atlanta and heard this was the best restaurant in Tuscaloosa. How very sad. The salad was rushed out before the appetizer (the spinach salad had 3 inch pieces of boiled bacon floating in the dressing), the appetizer came out a few minutes later, and then the main course. When I commented on the lack of time to enjoy the courses, the excuse was they were slow tonight. The waiter blamed the kitchen. The food was barely adequate for the prices. We won't be going back. Fine dining this is not! Management has no handle on the quality of food leaving the kitchen. I will say the view was absolutely lovely!


Great view, bland food


Dated:Tuesday August 21st 2007 at 05:01:26 PM  
Reviewer: A Diner from Tuscaloosa, Alabama with IP: 130.160.71.172
3 stars: Service
2 stars: Food
4 stars: Atmosphere
3 stars: Overall
The Cypress Inn is disappointing. I have eaten there on several occasions over the last few years for lunch and dinner. Each time I truly hope it will improve, but if anything the quality has declined. The fundamental problem is the menu. With few exceptions, the dishes are boring and similar to institutional food. Whereas southern cuisine is justly celebrated throughout the US now, restaurants like this promote the once widely-held negative stereotypes of southern cooking being mostly fried, with vegetables boiled to oblivion, little creativity, and no color. I would suggest to the owners to consider hiring an exciting up-and-coming southern chef, totally revamping the menu, and bringing the food up to par with the wonderful location and view. I do not like being this critical of a restaurant, but it is sad to see such a location go to waste, and nor do I like to see poor examples of southern food promoted.


First bad experience in over 20 years!!


Dated:Sunday August 12th 2007 at 07:58:44 PM  
Reviewer: Bob McCool from Northport, Alabama with IP: 68.62.116.211
5 stars: Service
2 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
4 stars: Overall
I ordered seafood gumbo in lieu of a salad for lunch. Gumbo had no more than 10 grains of rice, 3 small shrimp, 4 small hunks of tomato, 4 green beans, and the rest was luke warm water. The catfish strips (3) were very good (must have not been biting today). Mash potatoes were cold, not cool, COLD! Server was attentive and did a good job. Have heard other people say food quality has deteriorated in the last few years -- tend to agree as evidenced by small crowd for Sunday lunch.


Great View with Great Prices


Dated:Monday February 26th 2007 at 09:34:49 AM  
Reviewer: Michael from Tuscaloosa with IP: 72.12.61.102
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
The Ribeye at the Cypress in is the best in Tuscaloosa. I combined the steak with a house salad and a side of squash casserole and had a hard time finishing my meal. This may have had something to do with the delicious bran muffins and homemade rolls the servers bring with every meal! The service is always friendly and unpretenious. Nowhere else in town has such a great view combined with great food and service.


Very pleasing experience


Dated:Friday February 16th 2007 at 09:12:48 AM  
Reviewer: Tommie Heinrich from Jasper, Alabama with IP: 72.155.157.22
4 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
1 stars: Overall
I truly enjoy each and every experience that I've had visiting this restaurant. The individual service is impeccable and the food is very tasty. I've never had a bad meal here.


Not as good as it used to be!!!


Dated:Friday January 26th 2007 at 04:40:01 PM  
Reviewer: Jason from Tuscaloosa, AL with IP: 66.184.129.250
3 stars: Service
2 stars: Food
4 stars: Atmosphere
3 stars: Overall
The last two times I visited Cypress Inn the food was less than stellar. Also both occasions the wiatress attempted to give us a limited menu with a party of eight. During the last trip (which will be my last for a while) I ordered grilled shrimp with cheese grits. The shrimp were the equivalent of tastless rubber. Service was OK other than the menu issue.


I love the Cypress Inn


Dated:Thursday January 18th 2007 at 04:27:28 PM  
Reviewer: Laura Smith from Tuscaloosa, Alabama with IP: 72.12.61.102
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
4 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
I love the Cypress Inn! It is by far one of the best restaurants in Tuscaloosa, and we go eat there every chance we get. The food is always wonderful and we love the view of the river.


Breath taking view!


Dated:Wednesday January 17th 2007 at 05:35:22 PM  
Reviewer: HL from Tuscaloosa, Alabama with IP: 76.18.118.175
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
The Cypress Inn is by far one of the best restaurants in Tuscaloosa. Every time i go out to eat at the Cypress Inn i go home completely satisfied. The food is great, the atmosphere is perfect, and the beautiful view of the river is breath taking, especially at night! Dinner at the Cypress Inn makes everyone happy. It's always been just right for everything from dates to family dinners after church. also good for birthdays and parties


Is there an equpment failure?


Dated:Sunday January 7th 2007 at 06:03:28 PM  
Reviewer: elinor lynn from Birmingham, AL with IP: 66.0.62.219
1 stars: Service
3 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
3 stars: Overall
The last two times I have eaten here the food was served cold.. the waiter never came back.. almost died of thirst.. actually drank out of my daughter's glass because I could not get anyone's attention and needed a refill... NO rolls.. they were running short that day..hahaha...waiter stayed at a table where he seem to know the men...they had good service.. i wonder if they even paid for their food.

I had the smoked chicken, my sister had the catfish.. the vegetables were very small portion.. even by their standards. I know a lot of people who do not go here anymore.


Less than stellar.


Dated:Tuesday December 20th 2005 at 04:39:22 PM  
Reviewer: DC from Chicago, IL with IP: 70.89.77.134
5 stars: Service
3 stars: Food
4 stars: Atmosphere
4 stars: Overall
I was told Cyprus was on of the best places to dine; great food, nice atmosphere. Other than the wait staff being all too understanding, it was really less than stellar. I went with several people and everyones dinner was over-done. It was not as up scale as I was led to believe, a little drab. Suggestion. Pay more attention to the food on the grill and update the interior, your location is fantastic, just some tweaking needed. Your staff was great.


EVERYTHING THAT YOU COULD LOOK FOR IN A DINING EXPERIENCE


Dated:Sunday November 13th 2005 at 08:33:13 AM  
Reviewer: Jim Toland from Dalton, Georgia with IP: 205.144.222.2
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
Wonderful southern cuisine. Inviting riverview ambiance. Friendly and prompt service


Cypress Inn USED to be a good place to eat


Dated:Wednesday October 26th 2005 at 12:37:54 PM  
Reviewer: Kaye Ray from Tuscaloosa, Al with IP: 68.62.153.217
4 stars: Service
2 stars: Food
4 stars: Atmosphere
2 stars: Overall
While the Cypress Inn prices are very reasonable and the atmosphere is very pleasing, the food sure isn't what it used to be. At least not during my visit there last night. The service was OK, but the food was cold when served and my friends baked potato was rotten and had to be replaced. The server began cleaning off the table while we were still eating as if to hurry us along for other guests. Only there wasn't anyone waiting to be seated. Next time I offer to take a group of folks to dinner, I will probably go elsewhere.


Great Food, Great Atmosphere!!!


Dated:Thursday October 20th 2005 at 03:56:13 PM  
Reviewer: Heather from Tuscaloosa with IP: 69.2.70.23
4 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
I absolutely love to eat at Cypress Inn. I think both the food and atmosphere are wonderful. My favorite entree is the smoked chicken w/ white BBQ sauce - YUMMY!






Site Map Copyright © 2005-2019 TuscaloosaRestaurant.com
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License.
Page generated in 0.15 seconds, 94 queries