Tuscaloosa Restaurant.com for your dining and entertainment needs.
Login
Username:

Password:


Forgot Password
Register
Tuscaloosa Restaurants at Tuscaloosa Restaurant.com
 
Web TuscaloosaRestaurant.com
Tuscaloosa Restaurants   Menus   Reviews   Jobs   Entertainment   Editor's Picks   Restaurant Owners   Contact Us   
Ads by TuscalooooooooooosaRestaurant
Tuscaloosa Contractors
Repair, Remodel, Renovations done the Wright Way in Tuscaloosa.
Tuscaloosa Used Autos Write Reviews
Write reviews for Tuscaloosa Restaurants
Tuscaloosa Rentals and Real Estate


Hokkaido Japanese Steakhouse

528 15th Street East
Tuscaloosa, Alabama 35401
Phone: (205) 366-0112

 

Click Here For More Information On Hokkaido Japanese Steakhouse

2 deleted reviews averaging 2.0000.


Restaurant Reviews for Hokkaido Japanese Steakhouse



The best all around!


Dated:Monday October 25th 2010 at 04:14:52 AM  
Reviewer: David from Tuscaloosa with IP: 66.87.0.59
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
I go to Hokkiado at least once a week.

The food is VERY good. I always call in my call in my order and the same girl that is always there is very nice. She knows me by name and is always very sweet and always makes sure my order is right.

When my wife and I dine in the hostes are quick to see us and the servers are always very nice.

This is the BEST japaneese place in tuscaloosa.


Awesome


Dated:Thursday May 13th 2010 at 02:39:37 PM  
Reviewer: jason from tuscaloosa with IP: 68.62.134.13
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
I eat here at least once or twice a week, I can walk in and not even order and they know what I want. Awesome service, food and atmosphere. This is my favorite restaurant by far! You will not be disappointed at all. Try the filet and chicken!


Horrible Service, Substandard food and "Added Gratuity"


Dated:Saturday April 10th 2010 at 12:09:18 AM  
Reviewer: Benjamin Blacklock from Tuscaloosa, Alabama with IP: 204.29.110.195
1 stars: Service
2 stars: Food
1 stars: Atmosphere
1 stars: Overall
Not only did we sit for around 20 minutes before a chef showed up at our table, they cranked the AC, with customers visibly shivering. The food wasn't bad, however they add a nice "Added Gratuity" piece, which equaled the cost of another meal! I will never eat at this horrible place again.


I think Im addicted


Dated:Sunday June 22nd 2008 at 11:33:18 AM  
Reviewer: Lauren from Tuscaloosa, AL with IP: 74.253.195.34
4 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
Ever since the first time I tried this place I have not been able to go even a week without eating a meal there. Their shrimp sauce is by far the best I have ever had anywhere. Their portion size is wonderful and it allows me to have an entire separate meal at home with the leftovers. The service might be a little slow occasionally, but the quality of the food is so high it definitely makes the wait well worth it.


I Love This Place


Dated:Saturday May 31st 2008 at 10:55:18 AM  
Reviewer: Heather from Tuscaloosa, AL with IP: 68.62.152.58
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
This is in my opinion the best Japanese restaurant in Tuscaloosa. It is very crowded on Friday and Saturdays but it has always been worth the wait. I love their lunch specials. I eat there at least once a month. Their cooks always entertain so well. The only thing negative about the restaurant is that they need a bigger one.


The best Japanese restaurant in West Alabama


Dated:Friday March 28th 2008 at 09:24:28 AM  
Reviewer: Gary from Tuscaloosa, Alabama with IP: 216.83.236.52
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
This is without a doubt the best Japanese restaurant in west Alabama. “Charlie (the manager) and his staff are very friendly and professional. The food is wonderful and the portions are generous. In fact my wife and I typically get “to go” boxes and have another great meal at home a day or two later.


good food. slow service


Dated:Saturday February 9th 2008 at 07:26:00 PM  
Reviewer: Trent from Tuscaloosa AL with IP: 216.9.250.111
2 stars: Service
3 stars: Food
3 stars: Atmosphere
3 stars: Overall
Waited forever to get seated. Couldn't get anyone to answer the phone to place pick up order. Overall not happy.


A Completely Average Dining Experience


Dated:Sunday October 14th 2007 at 08:49:22 PM  
Reviewer: James from Tuscaloosa, Alabama with IP: 72.147.70.159
1 stars: Service
4 stars: Food
3 stars: Atmosphere
3 stars: Overall
I have been here twice, and it wasn't very busy either time, but it still took forever. The service in general was bad. The atmosphere was not as bad as the service, but it wasn't great either. The one place where this restaurant did shine in my opinion was the food. It was a little pricey, but the portions were great, and they have some of the best sushi in town. All in all, it's worth trying, but I probably won't eat there again.


Friendly Staff and Delicious Food


Dated:Tuesday February 27th 2007 at 09:18:59 PM  
Reviewer: Sheila Limmroth from Tuscaloosa with IP: 68.62.154.153
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
My husband and I eat here almost every Friday. The food is excellent and we always require a takeout box because of the portions. The servers and bartenders always greet us as soon as we open the door. Everyone is polite and attentive. There is no comparison to other Japanese restaurants in town. The health rating has always been excellent. I always order the chicken and shrimp dinner and leave very satisfied. I also appreciate the bartender creating mixed drinks when I ask him for something sweet w/pineapple juice.


The Best Sushi in Tuscaloosa


Dated:Sunday December 3rd 2006 at 09:49:42 PM  
Reviewer: Kevin from Tuscaloosa, AL with IP: 76.18.120.173
3 stars: Service
4 stars: Food
4 stars: Atmosphere
4 stars: Overall
This place has amazing sushi, some of the best I've ever had in Alabama. It's really fresh, the rolls are inventive and the presentation is great. So if sushi is your thing, I would recommend Hokkaido 100%



However, I must say that their service has been incredibly slow every time I have been there (even when the restaurant is virtually empty). Furthermore, the only non-sushi item I have ever ordered was a chicken teriyaki plate for lunch; the rice was dry, the teriyaki itself tasted funny, and the salad looked like something you'd get out of a high-school lunch cafeteria. Overall, I gave 4 stars for the food because of the sushi; it truly is the best this side of Alabama.


We'll miss that restaurant when we go back to Germany


Dated:Saturday September 23rd 2006 at 01:27:45 PM  
Reviewer: Armin Redzepagic from Tuscaloosa, Alabama with IP: 68.62.137.185
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
Even this is a Japanese Restaurant I'd say that this was one of our best impressions we had in our 2 year USA trip . Very nice waiters, the best cooks we ever had, funny and friendly and always in a good mood. The restaurant is clean and you'll never get out of it hungry. We are going at least once a week. I recommend this restaurant to everybody here in Alabama if you want to eat the best food in town. Try out the filet instead of the steak, it's a little bit more expensive, but it's worth every cent.


Will give other Japanese Restaurants a run for their money!


Dated:Tuesday September 19th 2006 at 01:38:13 PM  
Reviewer: Jennifer from Tuscaloosa, Alabama with IP: 130.160.28.171
4 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
4 stars: Overall
I have tried Hokkaido twice now and found both the service and food to be excellent! The location is a little small when the crowd builds up on the weekend, but the sushi is excellent and the service is just so much better than similar restauarants. I will never go back to Bento with their snobby and unattentive waitstaff again!


excellent


Dated:Sunday July 2nd 2006 at 06:21:29 PM  
Reviewer: Drew from Tuscaloosa, Alabama with IP: 68.62.122.232
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
Since it is a new place, it is 10 times cleaner than Benkai or any other Japanese place in town... The food was great; the shrimp was more fresh than shrimp at the coast. This will be a regular for my family.


The best place to eat within 50 miles of The University of Alabama


Dated:Sunday June 4th 2006 at 07:32:21 PM  
Reviewer: Corey from Tuscaloosa, Alabama with IP: 68.62.153.51
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
I am not a big Japenese fan, but this restaurant really introduced me to the Japanese that I never knew existed. The food, by far, is the best in town. If you go, you must get extra shrimp sauce, it is off the chains. This restaurant offers a very interesting atmosphere. Waiters are very friendly and they are there to help you. I have not really found this type of customer service in other restaurants. I througly enjoy the chicken, steak and shrimp plate. It will fill you up. I usually do not eat all day if I am planning on going to eat. With sushi, this meal will run around $30. I went one time to Hokkaido's but, I have been hooked ever since. I go at least once a week. Try it out and I will assure you that you will enjoy the whole experience.






Site Map Copyright © 2005-2019 TuscaloosaRestaurant.com
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License.
Page generated in 0.19 seconds, 78 queries