Tuscaloosa Restaurant.com for your dining and entertainment needs.
Login
Username:

Password:


Forgot Password
Register
Tuscaloosa Restaurants at Tuscaloosa Restaurant.com
 
Web TuscaloosaRestaurant.com
Tuscaloosa Restaurants   Menus   Reviews   Jobs   Entertainment   Editor's Picks   Restaurant Owners   Contact Us   
Ads by TuscalooooooooooosaRestaurant
Tuscaloosa DUI Lawyers
Find Tuscaloosa DUI Lawyers.
Tuscaloosa Lawyers
Find Tuscaloosa attorneys by category.
Tuscaloosa Movers
Get your fast and easy quote for your Tuscaloosa move.
Tuscaloosa Real Estate Agents
Find real estate agents in Tuscaloosa, AL.
Tuscaloosa Rentals and Real Estate


Ruan Thai

1407 University Boulevard
Tuscaloosa, Alabama 35401
Phone: (205)391-9973

 

Click Here For More Information On Ruan Thai

0 deleted reviews averaging .


Restaurant Reviews for Ruan Thai



Fantastic, authentic, Thai food


Dated:Tuesday November 11th 2008 at 03:04:46 PM  
Reviewer: George from Keizer, Oregon with IP: 67.171.143.13
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
To the person who said this restaurant isn't as good as Siam House was, well... since the owner and chef are the same person and the recipes are essentially the same, I'm afraid it is just a matter of remembering what a great Tuscaloosa institution Siam House was! As to the authenticity of the food, I have been to the owner's home for a party amongst other Thai people and the food served was precisely the same. She's a great cook and was much lauded amongst the Thai community for her cooking!



Superb!


Fresh and Well prepared Thai Food


Dated:Tuesday August 26th 2008 at 05:38:43 PM  
Reviewer: nancy Perrine from Tuscaloosa Al with IP: 74.164.222.35
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
4 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
The seasoning is very delicate and ballanced. If you like hot let your server know. If you do not specify they will serve it medium which is a little spicy for the uninitiated. If you order mild you will still get amazing flavor but no heat. The Red Curry is my favorite. The blend of curry is very complex and perfect with the shrimp and chicken. Of course Pad Thai will please everyone. I ask for extra sauce to be made with the dish and lap it up with a spoon it is so delicous! They do not have a liquor license but you can take your own wine and they will pour for a corkage fee. This is the only reason I gave atmosphere 4 stars rather than 5. It is not a big deal for me but it might be disappointing if you're expecting a nice glass of wine with dinner. There is a new Thai restaurant across the street. I tried it twice but when I want really good Thai food I go to Ruan Thai.


Excellent Thai food!


Dated:Sunday March 30th 2008 at 05:32:43 PM  
Reviewer: Brad from huntsville with IP: 74.240.123.72
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
I have been to Thailand several times in the past, and absolutely love the food! I always look for a good Thai restaurant when I come to new cities, and I was very excited to find such an excellent Thai restaurant in Tuscaloosa. The food is fresh and very authentic, complemented by good atmosphere and outstanding service. The owner takes great pride in her cooking and always comes out to talk to customers to ensure that the dining experience is excellent. If you are looking for superb Thai and a wonderful dining experience, look no further than Ruan Thai restaurant!


Great Food!


Dated:Tuesday March 4th 2008 at 10:30:24 PM  
Reviewer: John from Tuscaloosa, AL with IP: 76.27.143.104
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
This is probably the best deal in town. I have talked a little bit with the owner of the restaurant when she came out from the kitchen. All of the food is fresh, except apparently the seafood which is not surprising since the only place in town you can maybe get fresh seafood is ***edited***. But, you end up paying for that there. All of the vegetables are freshly prepared and the spices are particularly chosen by each of the chefs. There is absolutely no MSG in this food which is nice. All of the chefs come from Bangkok in Thailand so you end up having REAL Thai food and not some Americanized version of Thai. One of the reviewers below mentioned that this was Americanized Thai and wasn't as good as the Siam House was back in the day. Well, this is the exact same owner, who is the exact same chef, and they cook the exact same food as there was in the Siam House so I have no clue what that person is talking about. There might be a couple of different dishes but overall the menu is the same.



Alright, the food. Here are some suggestions. Try all of the curries. In particular try the Masamun curry with avocadoes and cashews. It is friggin awesome. If you like duck, then try the Ped Yang curry as well. I am not a big fan of the actual curry part since it is a bit sweet for me with the pineapple in it but the actual duck part is amazing. Try the Pa-Nang curry with the coconut curry sauce. There aren't a whole lot of vegetables in it so if you like vegetables get some other curry. But the sauce in it is absolutely amazing.



Try the pineapple fried rice. It isn't too sweet like the Ped Yang curry or the Pad Peow Whan sweet and sour is. The combination of the cashews and raisins in this fried rice makes it absolutely heavenly.



The Pad Graprow with the hot basil sauce is amazing if you like spicy food. One time that I came for lunch they had this dish with duck. You ended up paying a bit more but it was totally worth it to splurge on that dish.



Also, try the beef salad, chicken larb, or seafood salad if you can. All of them are "Thai style" salads with this amazing lime sauce over them.



If you are vegetarian or vegan, then I think everything but some of the appetizers can be made according to your preference. I have been in a number of times with some friends who were vegan and they could get everything made the way that they wanted. Just be sure to explain to your waiter what constitutes vegan or vegetarian for you because pretty much everything has fish sauce in it and all of the curries have heavy cream in them. I don't know of any other restaurant in town that is as willing to accommodate people with dietary restrictions.


AWESOME!!!


Dated:Friday August 24th 2007 at 06:25:05 PM  
Reviewer: Susan from Tuscaloosa, Alabama with IP: 68.62.133.76
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
So far I have tried the Green Curry, Red Curry, Yellow Curry and the Pineapple Fried Rice. They all were fantastic! My favorite was the Red Curry because it's a little spicy and I LOVE spicy. Also, the peanut sauce they serve on their salad is great!! I am very pleased with this restaurant and will be returning to try evertyhing they have on the menu.


Good Thai in Tuscaloosa


Dated:Saturday January 20th 2007 at 06:24:48 PM  
Reviewer: H from Tuscaloosa with IP: 68.62.146.155
4 stars: Service
4 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
4 stars: Overall
I was thrilled when Ruan Thai opened, and I still am. It's the best(and sadly, only) Thai Restaurant in Tuscaloosa. The cooks make lovely curries, but as the previous reviewer mentioned, they err on the side of milder cuisine, even when you ask for a dish to be prepared "Thai hot."

I'll still be making periodic visits to Birmingham for Surin fixes, but Ruan Thai is a pretty great stand-in.


Pretty good Americanized Thai


Dated:Wednesday September 13th 2006 at 03:19:12 PM  
Reviewer: Emily from Tuscaloosa with IP: 68.17.179.6
5 stars: Service
3 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
4 stars: Overall
I just can't bring myself to give Ruan Thai the same rave reviews that everyone else seems to be. I found the heat index of the food extremely lacking - which is why I said "Americanized Thai." Additionally, the soups are far heavier on the fish sauce, and far lighter on the red chilies and galangal than I am accustomed to with Thai cuisine.



Perhaps many of you will think that I am being being too picky...but those of you who remember the Siam House should know that Ruan does not compare to the Siam House's authenticity. When Asia calls, I'm afraid that I will be headed to Maharaja rather than Ruan Thai.


Best Thai in Ttown!


Dated:Saturday September 9th 2006 at 05:34:28 PM  
Reviewer: kelly from tuscaloosa, alabama with IP: 68.62.118.27
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
I absolutely LOVED Ruan. This is the BEST Thai food in Tuscaloosa by far. The service is wonderful, I had a question about a type of Thai food and the cook came out to talk to me. The atmosphere is pretty chill, and the prices are extremely cheap! If you are a student, take your AC card for a discount. As far as spicy goes, I usually have to take mild or a 2 on a 5 scale, but here the mild is not too spicy at all, so great for the weaker tastebuds.


Wonderful restaurant


Dated:Sunday September 3rd 2006 at 11:29:45 AM  
Reviewer: john from tuscaloosa with IP: 69.244.9.154
5 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
They have a good variety of foods. The daily curry is terrific and a great idea. You get a lot of food for a cheap price especially for a restaurant on the strip. Their service was very attentive and quick. A perfect quick lunch place and I'm sure its great for dinner.


Terrific Thai!


Dated:Saturday September 2nd 2006 at 05:19:45 PM  
Reviewer: Rachel from Tuscaloosa, AL with IP: 208.63.196.202
4 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
4 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
Ruan Thai serves Thai food as good as any I've had in the U.S., incl. NYC, Chicago, Philadelphia, LA...So grateful we have this restaurant in Tuscaloosa!


Amazing Thai Food


Dated:Saturday August 12th 2006 at 01:59:26 PM  
Reviewer: Chuck Mecham from Tuscaloosa, Alabama with IP: 68.186.184.112
4 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
5 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
What an incredible surprise: to find a 5-star restaurant such as the Ruan Thai, in Tuscaloosa! They've got it all: great food, great service, great price. We tried the "sampler platter" appetizer, Thai Beef Salad, Green Shrimp Curry, and Red Chicken Curry. All were excellent. The dishes can be prepared "mild", "medium", or "hot"; being only slightly brave, we tried the "medium": that was the correct choice for us. We've no negative comments at all. :-)

-- Check out the ceiling!


Delicious and beautiful food!


Dated:Friday August 11th 2006 at 04:12:53 PM  
Reviewer: j from Tuscaloosa, Alabama with IP: 130.160.141.143
3 stars: Service
5 stars: Food
4 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
Ruan Thai's debut in Tuscaloosa was as welcome as anything I can remember. Tuscaloosa is a city yearning for new and delicious fare and Ruan Thai is just what we needed! The food is wonderful -- exotic and flavorful, with wonderful presentation. Be sure to try the duck curry and the pineapple fried rice. While the staff is pleasant, they were very overwealmed when the restaurant first opened. Some better training and front end/host management would be ideal. I have been three times, and look forward to going back!






Site Map Copyright © 2005-2019 TuscaloosaRestaurant.com
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License.
Page generated in 0.19 seconds, 70 queries